Log4OM&Fldigi

Regarding connecting to external program's.
Post Reply
RC8SC
Novice Class
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2017, 18:47

Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by RC8SC » 05 Jun 2017, 18:32

Hi!
Can`t force Fldigi to switch TX/RX:(
QSO`s (manual input) transferring to Log4OM is OK.
Also confused with red indicator for "Inbound" servive status.
Screenshots of setup settings are attached (partly in next topic).
Many thanks in advance!
Yakov, RC8SC.

P.S.
Fldigi alone (with RigCat activated) is working fine.
Attachments
Log4OM_communicator.png
Log4OM_communicator.png (75.07 KiB) Viewed 1417 times
Fldigi_rigcat.png
Fldigi_rigcat.png (52.74 KiB) Viewed 1417 times
Fldigi_xml_rpc.png
Fldigi_xml_rpc.png (48.02 KiB) Viewed 1417 times

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4799
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by G4POP » 06 Jun 2017, 07:22

The fact that you have no inbound connection (Red LED illuminated) indicates the perhaps you are not running Log4OM as an administrator or perhaps a firewall or antivirus is blocking the inbound route?

Ensure that FLdigi is always started before Log4OM

Please confirm that when you say wont TX/RX you are referring to the sending of macros and TX/RX on the macro bar of FLDigi because if you are referring to the Tune button on Fldigi that is not supported by the FLDIgi XML/RPC control
73 Terry G4POP

RC8SC
Novice Class
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2017, 18:47

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by RC8SC » 06 Jun 2017, 11:42

Hi, Terry and thanks for the reply!

Yes I`m checking the "TX" function by pressing the "TX/RX" button on macros row.
And I`ve set Log4OM to start Fldigi first.

I have the Microsoft Essentials Antivirus installed on my comp.
Will try to check it`s settings to ensure that the issue is not with it.

For additional info:
Rig is FTdx1200 with SCU-17 for CAT control.

Thanks again!
73!
Yakov.

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4799
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by G4POP » 06 Jun 2017, 15:19

Are you certain that you installed Log4OM as an administrator

Right click on the install file and select 'Run as administrator'
73 Terry G4POP

RC8SC
Novice Class
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2017, 18:47

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by RC8SC » 06 Jun 2017, 18:21

Nothing regarding ports and connections management have found in MS Essentials.
As a precautionary measure stopped the MS Windows firewall.
Got "green" Fldigi inbound conxn, but TX still not working:(

A pair of new screenshots is attached.
As I can see in comm`s log something is wrong with connecting to Fldigi.

Tried to make clear installs of both programs on another computer - got the same thing.
Where to go now - that is the question!:)
Attachments
Communicator_main_screen.png
Communicator_main_screen.png (110.66 KiB) Viewed 1385 times
Communicator_log.png
Communicator_log.png (110.74 KiB) Viewed 1385 times

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4799
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by G4POP » 06 Jun 2017, 19:12

Generate a support request as detailed here http://www.log4om.com/log4om-support/

Be certain to set 'Trace' mode with FLDigi running and try the TX/RX buttons before generating the support request

Check the box 'Include ADIF file'

Email it to me at g4pop (AT) arrl.net

DO NOT POST THE REPORT TO THIS FORUM OR SEND IT AS A PRIVATE MESSAGE
73 Terry G4POP

RC8SC
Novice Class
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2017, 18:47

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by RC8SC » 07 Jun 2017, 18:12

Hi, Terry!

All is OK now!
I`ve installed the latest Fldigi v.4.0.1 and all is working really wonderful!
Including even freq transfer:)

Thanks very much for the support!
I really like Log4OM more and more!:)

73!
Yakov.

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4799
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Log4OM&Fldigi

Post by G4POP » 08 Jun 2017, 08:03

That's good news Yakov - Enjoy :D
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply