Setup using VSP problem

Regarding connecting to external program's.
hfsparks
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Oct 2017, 14:56

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by hfsparks » 30 Oct 2017, 14:54

The screenshots
PA3DJY
Attachments
JTAlert logging.PNG
JTAlert logging.PNG (50.29 KiB) Viewed 708 times
JTAlert main.PNG
JTAlert main.PNG (178.51 KiB) Viewed 708 times
JTAlert error.PNG
JTAlert error.PNG (9.99 KiB) Viewed 708 times

hfsparks
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Oct 2017, 14:56

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by hfsparks » 30 Oct 2017, 14:56

Screenshots part 2
Attachments
Wsjt-x rig setting.PNG
Wsjt-x rig setting.PNG (49.09 KiB) Viewed 708 times
Log4OM Communicator.PNG
Log4OM Communicator.PNG (74.72 KiB) Viewed 708 times
Log4OM communicator settings.PNG
Log4OM communicator settings.PNG (91.23 KiB) Viewed 708 times

hfsparks
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Oct 2017, 14:56

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by hfsparks » 30 Oct 2017, 14:56

Screenshots part 3

hfsparks
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Oct 2017, 14:56

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by hfsparks » 30 Oct 2017, 14:58

Sorry screenshots part 3

Anyone an idea ?

73's
Gerrit
PA3DJY
Attachments
Log4OM communicator activity log.PNG
Log4OM communicator activity log.PNG (84.7 KiB) Viewed 708 times

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4964
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by G4POP » 30 Oct 2017, 15:26

I believe that you will find the alert was re an unsaved QSO?

If you check your log I am sure that the QSO was saved but JTAlert has a habit of doing this is something slows down the save process

In JTAlett somewhere you can set the alert delay, set it to the longest possible to reduce these unwarranted alerts
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4964
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by G4POP » 30 Oct 2017, 15:28

You don't have to post for each screen shot you can have multiple screen shots on one forum post
73 Terry G4POP

hfsparks
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Oct 2017, 14:56

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by hfsparks » 31 Oct 2017, 10:44

Good day Terry,

I have tried your advice:
I have set the time for the alert delay to a higher number, that only results in a longer time for the error message box to be displayed.
After the 73's in a QSO it takes about 8 to 10 secons for JTAlert to come up with the not logged message.
After checking the file is not been written to the log.

Gerrit
PA3DJY

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4964
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by G4POP » 31 Oct 2017, 11:31

The fact that it was logging OK and suddenly it is not indicates that something changed on your computer......

Moved the logbook file

Firewall or virus protection changed through update perhaps

Change of settings in JTAlert

Server or UDP address changed in JTAlert or Log4OM communicator or both

Something got corrupted in JTAlert or WSJTX - a fresh install could have caused this or could cure it - Perhaps you upgraded to WSJT RC 3 or the latest JTAlert?

So many possibilities but for sure the issue is with your set up notLog4OM because Log4OM is passive during log writing, its JTAlert that does all the heavy lifting
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
DF5WW
Moderator
Posts: 941
Joined: 02 May 2013, 10:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by DF5WW » 31 Oct 2017, 12:46

Hi Terry,

on my end i also got a "QSO not logged" message from JTAlert. On my side this error occurs when
Internet connection is to slow. Log4OM sends to eQSL, HamQTH, Clublog and HRDlog (if this is
entered in the settings) and Log4OM will update a new entry only if those uploads are complete.

On my side every QSO will be logged (i don´t lost any) but from time to time with a bigger latency.

So in fact a slow Internet kann force this "error" which isn´t one ;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

hfsparks
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Oct 2017, 14:56

Re: Setup using VSP problem

Post by hfsparks » 31 Oct 2017, 13:56

Hi Terry and Juergen,

At this time all logging okay.
What i did is remove JTAlert and Log4OM and reinstalled the whole bunch.
All seems to doing fine now.

Gerrit
PA3DJY

Post Reply