Grid square read from previous contacts

Your ideas for making Log4OM even better.
Post Reply
ta2nc
Novice Class
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 Oct 2018, 17:14

Grid square read from previous contacts

Post by ta2nc » 03 Oct 2018, 18:42

Hello,
Maybe it is there and needed to be turned on from somethere but couldnt find it.

I have a station that i qso'd before and his grid square information is already in my log.

When i make a new qso with him, it completes his name from external source(qrz etc) but, it doesnt complete the grid square.
Ok maybe it can not get it from qrz.com but i have this info from my previous qsos..
Isn't it better to get such info from previous qso logs (name grid etc)

Regards

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Grid square read from previous contacts

Post by G4POP » 03 Oct 2018, 18:57

No because he could have been /P or MM or from some other location
73 Terry G4POP

ta2nc
Novice Class
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 Oct 2018, 17:14

Re: Grid square read from previous contacts

Post by ta2nc » 03 Oct 2018, 22:14

It was a strict no..wow :)

/P or /MM are not same with the main call..

User can update the grid if he needs to.

Anyway.. just my two cents..

73

oh8fks
Novice Class
Posts: 15
Joined: 12 Jan 2018, 18:18

Re: Grid square read from previous contacts

Post by oh8fks » 28 Oct 2018, 09:29

This would be a nice improvement. This information, locator and other, is taken automatically from third sites (qrz.com), so I don't understand why your own log shouldn't be considered reliable. The fact of being /P or /MM doesn't change the situation. If you make a mistake in the locator, you would do it also by picking the wrong info from qrz.com.

Best way would be to have a "Edit as new" on the right-click menu of a QSO. Or even easier a "Copy to a new QSO" and the info of the QSO you click on are copied (except perhaps the date) in the form above.

Post Reply