VHF work?

Your ideas for making Log4OM even better.
sm7sjr
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 28 Dec 2015, 15:29

VHF work?

Post by sm7sjr » 28 Dec 2015, 15:40

Hello,

Would it be possible to add features like most wanted squares and so on? I do work mainly from 6m and up and we are a lot hooked on the locators. If anyone here has used VQ-log made by EA6VQ you know what I am talking about. Features like:
Quick summaries of worked locators
Most wanted squares
integration with the VHF database (make more miles on VHF)
Logger keeps track of not only worked locators but also on which propagation mode (some of us wants to differ the moonbounce qsos from the terrestial qsos for example)

The reason for me asking is VQ log does not seem to be developed and misses features like direct LOTW integration, telnet cluster ingtegration and so on. So I am at a dead end here. But there is so many loggers out there, who are so tightly focused on HF bands op only.

73
SM7SJR
Bjorn

pa2kw
Advanced Class
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 Oct 2015, 20:33

Re: VHF work?

Post by pa2kw » 28 Dec 2015, 16:20

Hello Bjorn,

Nice to see you here!
I'm a VHF DX-er (besides HF DX-er) as well and then it's all about working DXCC's and locators (XXyy) and keep track of them.
I was a VQLog user for many many years (up to a month ago).
I definitely switched to Log4OM as it is a nice program and "alive" (which is important).
But the items you mentioned are specific needs for the VHF-er.
There are not much Log-programs that suits the needs for this particular group.

So I do vote in favour of these feature requests / options as well.
You're not alone :-)

73's, Evert PA2KW

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5477
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: VHF work?

Post by G4POP » 28 Dec 2015, 16:57

Added to mantis list for future development - Mantis item 000577
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
DK5EW
Novice Class
Posts: 29
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 18:47
Location: Swabian Alps - lake of Konstanz
Contact:

Re: VHF work?

Post by DK5EW » 31 Dec 2015, 10:00

This is what I posted some time before to integrate all this stuff.

see: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1802

sm7sjr
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 28 Dec 2015, 15:29

Re: VHF work?

Post by sm7sjr » 04 Jan 2016, 19:57

Thanks very much. It would be awesome if we got this into the software, then I'd be a happy user and donor as well.

73 de SM7SJR, Bjorn
www.sm7sjr.se

User avatar
G0OFE
Novice Class
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 May 2014, 08:37

Re: VHF work?

Post by G0OFE » 09 Jan 2016, 13:30

I tend to use LOG4OM for HF and VQLog for VHF, doe to the lack of Grid locator support on the former. I did flag this back in 2014, viewtopic.php?f=11&t=827&p=5837#p5837 but seems we are still where we were back then on this score.

I then ADIF the logs across to combine them. It's a fiddle, but gives me the best of both worlds. I would prefer to use one logging program tbh...

I like the way VQLog gives instant flag on whether a country or grid is worked/confirmed before as soon as you type in the window, and if it is new, how many, e.g. "New Grid #125 on 2m" or "grid not confirmed on 2m" for example.

sm7sjr
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 28 Dec 2015, 15:29

Re: VHF work?

Post by sm7sjr » 24 Jan 2016, 18:36

Well if you have asked for it in 2014 and it still is not here, then I think we shall not be too optimistic.

But we will see, maybe. If there is life there is hope.



73 de SM7SJR, Bjorn

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2275
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: VHF work?

Post by IW3HMH » 02 Feb 2016, 09:56

I'm actually working on locators statistics
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

User avatar
G0OFE
Novice Class
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 May 2014, 08:37

Re: VHF work?

Post by G0OFE » 02 Feb 2016, 12:30

IW3HMH wrote:I'm actually working on locators statistics

Good news.

If you need a hand with beta-testing that function, then I would be happy to help.

sm7sjr
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 28 Dec 2015, 15:29

Re: VHF work?

Post by sm7sjr » 18 Feb 2016, 05:50

And a field called propagation mode? I assume that is not much work.
The good thing with this is that I can easily for instance sort out all QSOs being done on EME on say 70cm. (To be honest I have not checked, this feature might already be present).
In for instance VQlog there is a dropdown list with the propagation modes needed.

I downloaded the latest version of Log4OM a few days ago, exciting to see what development brings us.

Thanks
Bjorn, SM7SJR

Post Reply