Cluster Heartbeat setting

Your ideas for making Log4OM even better.
Post Reply
VA3KA
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 18:43

Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by VA3KA » 06 Mar 2016, 16:38

I am having ongoing issues with my Telnet connection to DXclusters timing out after 3-4 minutes when there is low activity.

This does not appear to be a Log4OM issue but something to do with my Internet provider. I have been in preliminary discussions with them and they are so far not able to determine the issue (they claim it is from a downstream provider).

Would it be possible to have the heartbeat timer modifiable in the future. I was able to do this in my previous logging s/w (Win-EQF) through a configuration file edit.

Thanks and 73,
Ken VA3KA

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2329
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by IW3HMH » 07 Mar 2016, 17:46

actually it's set to 240 seconds (4 minutes)
do you need a more frequent HB?
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

VA3KA
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 18:43

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by VA3KA » 07 Mar 2016, 23:04

Until the issue is resolved I probably need a 60 second heartbeat!

Thanks for the consideration.

Ken VA3KA

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2329
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by IW3HMH » 22 Mar 2016, 19:29

A lot of cluster managers will hate me...
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

VA3KA
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 18:43

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by VA3KA » 22 Mar 2016, 21:04

I won't reveal my logging program!!

I really only use one "local" dxcluster in any case (and a 2nd as a back up).

As there are sometimes 3-4 spots a minute, I don't imagine my 1 keepalive a minute will cause much of an issue.

My Internet provider still has not found out why my telnet sessions are timing out after 3 or so minutes. I will try again to get them to try to solve the issue.

Is there any way to make the keepalive timer user controllable?

Also, I am not clear on what the "Timeout" function on the Cluster page does.

Thanks and 73,
Ken VA3KA

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2329
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by IW3HMH » 30 Mar 2016, 14:54

Hi Ken, i'll check if i can add something in the next one
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2329
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by IW3HMH » 31 Mar 2016, 20:51

Added in 1.25
It's not a "visible" parameter. You should manually edit the LogOmUI.exe.config file searching for ClusterHeartbeat tag into xml.

Recommended is 240
Anything less than 30 will be reset to 30 seconds at runtime.
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

VA3KA
Novice Class
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 18:43

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by VA3KA » 31 Mar 2016, 21:46

Great news thanks for the effort. I still have not got resolution from my Internet provider.

When do you anticipate 1.25 will be available?

Thanks and 73
Ken VA3KA

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2329
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Cluster Heartbeat setting

Post by IW3HMH » 10 Apr 2016, 18:29

i'm building Release Candidate 1
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

Post Reply