Page 1 of 1

Grid square read from previous contacts

Posted: 03 Oct 2018, 18:42
by ta2nc
Hello,
Maybe it is there and needed to be turned on from somethere but couldnt find it.

I have a station that i qso'd before and his grid square information is already in my log.

When i make a new qso with him, it completes his name from external source(qrz etc) but, it doesnt complete the grid square.
Ok maybe it can not get it from qrz.com but i have this info from my previous qsos..
Isn't it better to get such info from previous qso logs (name grid etc)

Regards

Re: Grid square read from previous contacts

Posted: 03 Oct 2018, 18:57
by G4POP
No because he could have been /P or MM or from some other location

Re: Grid square read from previous contacts

Posted: 03 Oct 2018, 22:14
by ta2nc
It was a strict no..wow :)

/P or /MM are not same with the main call..

User can update the grid if he needs to.

Anyway.. just my two cents..

73

Re: Grid square read from previous contacts

Posted: 28 Oct 2018, 09:29
by oh8fks
This would be a nice improvement. This information, locator and other, is taken automatically from third sites (qrz.com), so I don't understand why your own log shouldn't be considered reliable. The fact of being /P or /MM doesn't change the situation. If you make a mistake in the locator, you would do it also by picking the wrong info from qrz.com.

Best way would be to have a "Edit as new" on the right-click menu of a QSO. Or even easier a "Copy to a new QSO" and the info of the QSO you click on are copied (except perhaps the date) in the form above.