New LOG4OM user with suggestions ......

Your ideas for making Log4OM even better.
J85K
Advanced Class

New LOG4OM user with suggestions ......

Post by J85K »

Attention:- Administrator / Design Team

I am migrating to Log4OM from HRD 5.24.38 package that I've been using for some five years and a little more than 10,000 QSO's. HRD ver 6.2 preview has re-worked the CLUSTER headings and I suspect that it is only a matter of time before Cluster information in the free legacy platform becomes unreadable. I also appears very USA-centric with DX 'Countries' that are US states. I think that cluster writes are already generally oversubscribed with extraneous information.

1) I am having difficulty with HRDNET.log. I am aware of the format of the 'upload' code and requested a 'new' one, but it doesn't play. I especially love the updateable DX map feature. Does Log4OM consider that this is a useful, and would write its own iteration?

2) I also notice that only one QSO at a time can be entered. Under HRD, you could open several ALE/QSO windows under the 'ADD' function and close as necessary. This might something to consider if not too much trouble.

3) I have a keen interest in the 'Net Control' register option which is new to me, but it appears that I have to manually preload the data fields. Could the feauture not be able to recall a previous entry / new check-in and simply save to designated Net Control log by having a second add button and of course it would display those contacts under a "Net Control' tab as with "'QSO's" etc.

4) Could the Cluster Map be made interchangeable with an additional 'tab' contained in the section above? The Alphanumeric Cluster information on the right would usually be sufficient to change the transceiver frequency correctly. I did so enjoy the Cluster information box user layout options in HRD 5.24.38.