Controlling a remote coax switch

Here we will provide support for developers working on integration
Post Reply
w8tfi
Novice Class
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Dec 2015, 19:14

Controlling a remote coax switch

Post by w8tfi » 13 Jan 2016, 05:50

Hi,
Love the program, have been working on a remote coax switch. I have an Alpha 87A Amp. Alpha had a remote coax switch that connected in between the computer and Amp using serial commands, what I have done is use a Arduino that I have wrote a small program for to switch a remote caox switch. what I would like to see is when I click on a call to adjust my Kenwood TS-2000 to that Freq.(and it does that well) I would like it to also control my Alpha amp and have it change to the correct band, now the Alpha 87a will change band automatically when I key and speak but I would like it to change before I do that, Is this something that could be done with some settings in the program or will this be something that has to be writing for. my Kenwood is on one Com Port( COM 5) and my Alpha is on another (COM !).

Thanks for all your hard work
Brian
W8TFI

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Controlling a remote coax switch

Post by G4POP » 14 Jan 2016, 11:17

Hi
Not sure about the TS2000 but most radios do band switching for antennas and liners etc via a rear socket.

So we change the Band, mode & frequency of the radio and the radio controls the external device switching, some radios like the Icom range also provide a delay before TX to allow for switching time.

Other than that look at the Velleman kits for an external device control, I used one for a long time to switch a coax switch with my SDR radios

See http://www.velleman.co.uk/contents/en-uk/d2_kits.html
73 Terry G4POP

CT1BXX
Old Man
Posts: 266
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 16:27

Re: Controlling a remote coax switch

Post by CT1BXX » 14 Jan 2016, 12:11

Hi dear Terry and Brian

Unfortunately kenwood do not have this rear connection even the 990S. I use PSTRotator with Kmtronic USB Relay, and it works very well: Changing band in radio or on Log4Om it also changes antennas (or other device).

See:
KMTronic Relay
http://sigma-shop.com/product/8/-usb-ei ... d-12v.html

PSTRotator Software
http://www.qsl.net/yo3dmu/index_Page346.htm
73 Manuel Fernando CT1BXX

w8tfi
Novice Class
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Dec 2015, 19:14

Re: Controlling a remote coax switch

Post by w8tfi » 15 Jan 2016, 00:41

Thank you for the reply's.
I guess maybe I did explain it very well. I have built a remote coax switch using an Arduino to receive Serial commands (Com Port 3) from my computer to switch antennas, I have a stand alone program that lets me switch antenna relays for my desktop, I also have an Alpha 87A Amp. that has a serial port to allow me to use software to control it also (Com Port 1). A long time ago Alpha sold a separate box that allowed you to control a remote antenna coax switch called the Digital Antenna Selector (DAS for short) that connected in be tween the Alpha amp and your computer. this was to be able to allow you to switch antennas when you remotely switched the amp bands, it went in-line with the amp on the same serial port Com Port 1). Is there a way to have my computer send serial commands to both Com Ports (1 & 3) and the same time.

Thank you for all your help.
Brian
W8TFI

NealXu
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Jan 2018, 17:28

Re: Controlling a remote coax switch

Post by NealXu » 08 Jan 2018, 17:40

Hi...i am a new user here. In my case i did change the Band, mode and frequency of the radio and the radio controls the external device switching, some radios like the Icom range also provide a delay before TX to allow for switching time.

pcba prototype
Last edited by NealXu on 30 Jan 2018, 20:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
m0pkz
Novice Class
Posts: 27
Joined: 24 Dec 2013, 06:49
Contact:

Re: Controlling a remote coax switch

Post by m0pkz » 17 Jan 2018, 13:57

Just for the ic-7300 owners....
http://www.m0pkz.co.uk/?p=205
Will upload new video to youtube soon...
Regards, Kes-m0pkz
Rigs: IC-7300 Ant: 6 band hexbeam (by SP7IDX) and 40m double bazooka.
http://m0pkz.co.uk/

Post Reply