SDR-Radio with Log4OM

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5569
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 12 Sep 2013, 11:42

Hi All,
This forum is for free discussion about all matters relating to SDR and VSP's related to Log4OM

I am running my RFSpace SDR-IP and Icom 756 Pro3 with an Elad switch box via SDR-Radio by Simon HB9DRV simultaneously with Log4OM, MixW and Bandmaster using a VSP splitter from Eterlogic and they all play very well together.

Seems that the free Eterlogic VSP Manager only works with 32 bit Windows and to use it with a 64 bit system there is a cost! However having checked there does not appear to be a viable alternative so perhaps the US$25 cost is acceptable for the Eterlogic 64 bit version?
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by IW3HMH » 12 Sep 2013, 13:28

This may be of some interest?

http://sourceforge.net/projects/com0com/
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

IW3RAB
Advanced Class
Posts: 53
Joined: 23 Jan 2013, 20:32
Location: JN65vp

SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by IW3RAB » 12 Sep 2013, 20:56

This may be of some interest?

http://code.google.com/p/powersdr-iq/downloads/list

See signed version need by Microsoft 7/8 for device drivers
This avoids system modifications for device driver install

What mean ? See price list on:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WHQL_Testing
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Code_signing

Sandro IW3RAB
Sandro IW3RAB

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5569
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re:SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 12 Sep 2013, 23:17

Thanks Fellas but I don't believe either one provides a splitter?
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
LA9FFA
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 89
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:59
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re:SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by LA9FFA » 14 Sep 2013, 07:54

G4POP wrote:Hi All,
Seems that the free Eterlogic VSP Manager only works with 32 bit Windows and to use it with a 64 bit system there is a cost! However having checked there does not appear to be a viable alternative so perhaps the US$25 cost is acceptable for the Eterlogic 64 bit version?
I use the 64 bit version of Eterlogic VSP Manager.
The only thing the 64 bit version does VS the 32 bit version is to ask you to buy a licence via a popup screen. just click "No" and then "OK" on the next popup and you are ready to go.
73`s De Rolf LA9FFA.

Member of: NRRL/ARRL/LA4O/LADX Group.
Honor Roll #Mixed #CW #8 Band DXCC.

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5569
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re:SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 14 Sep 2013, 08:44

LA9FFA wrote:
G4POP wrote:Hi All,
Seems that the free Eterlogic VSP Manager only works with 32 bit Windows and to use it with a 64 bit system there is a cost! However having checked there does not appear to be a viable alternative so perhaps the US$25 cost is acceptable for the Eterlogic 64 bit version?
I use the 64 bit version of Eterlogic VSP Manager.
The only thing the 64 bit version does VS the 32 bit version is to ask you to buy a licence via a popup screen. just click "No" and then "OK" on the next popup and you are ready to go.

Missed that, TU
73 Terry G4POP

IW3RAB
Advanced Class
Posts: 53
Joined: 23 Jan 2013, 20:32
Location: JN65vp

Re: Re:SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by IW3RAB » 14 Sep 2013, 16:40

G4POP wrote:Thanks Fellas but I don't believe either one provides a splitter?
Yes, hub, splitter, network copy, rfc2217, multiplexer and many other functions.

The syntax is not immediate.

com0com provide only virtual serial device and a lot of base settings.

In my PC I create the follow:
Virtual port pair 0 : COM12 <--> CNCB0
Virtual port pair 1: COM13 <--> CNCB1

The additional programs com2tcp and hub4com provide connections. The programs work in user mode and not need to be SIGNED.

Now I can do a connection from my real COM3:

hub4com --bi-route=0:1,2 --baud=9600 --stop=2 --parity=no \\.\COM3 \\.\CNCB0 \\.\CNCB1

The result from program printout is:

COM3 Open("\\.\COM3", baud=9600, data=8, parity=no, stop=2, octs=on, odsr=off, ox=off, ix=off, idsr=off, ito=0) - OK
CNCB0 Open("\\.\CNCB0", baud=9600, data=8, parity=no, stop=2, octs=on, odsr=off, ox=off, ix=off, idsr=off, ito=0) - OK
CNCB1 Open("\\.\CNCB1", baud=9600, data=8, parity=no, stop=2, octs=on, odsr=off, ox=off, ix=off, idsr=off, ito=0) - OK
Route data COM3(0) --> CNCB0(1) CNCB1(2)
Route data CNCB0(1) --> COM3(0)
Route data CNCB1(2) --> COM3(0)
Route flow control COM3(0) --> CNCB0(1) CNCB1(2)
Route flow control CNCB0(1) --> COM3(0)
Route flow control CNCB1(2) --> COM3(0)
Started COM3(0)
Started CNCB0(1)
Started CNCB1(2)

Now on COM12 and COM13 I can use programs that dialogue with COM3.
The communication is valid until I stop hub4com
The possibilities tend to infinity without using TCP.

Sandro IW3RAB
Sandro IW3RAB

OE6CLD
Old Man
Posts: 140
Joined: 04 Jun 2013, 08:54
Location: Munich

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by OE6CLD » 23 Sep 2013, 08:33

Hi,

Also have a look at this:

http://www.hhdsoftware.com/free-virtual-serial-ports

73,
Claus, EI7JZ/OE6CLD
Claus, EI7JZ/OE6CLD/DJ0DX

IW3RAB
Advanced Class
Posts: 53
Joined: 23 Jan 2013, 20:32
Location: JN65vp

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by IW3RAB » 23 Sep 2013, 19:36

EI7JZ wrote:Hi,

Also have a look at this:

http://www.hhdsoftware.com/free-virtual-serial-ports

73,
Claus, EI7JZ/OE6CLD
Thank Clause for information.
I will try in next weeks.

The program I try is the top, can do all, but the impact is how to hit a wall
Sandro IW3RAB

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5569
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Re:SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 02 Oct 2013, 08:13

IW3RAB wrote:
G4POP wrote:Thanks Fellas but I don't believe either one provides a splitter?
Yes, hub, splitter, network copy, rfc2217, multiplexer and many other functions.

The syntax is not immediate.

com0com provide only virtual serial device and a lot of base settings.

The additional programs com2tcp and hub4com provide connections. The programs work in user mode and not need to be SIGNED.

Sandro IW3RAB
Hi Sandro,
Thanks for that and you are correct it is not immediately obvious how to use it but once you know it does virtually everything, if you will pardon the pun :D
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply