SDR-Radio with Log4OM

User avatar
I2782VE
Novice Class
Posts: 29
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 10:12
Location: Rome, Latina, Treviso...
Contact:

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by I2782VE » 22 Oct 2013, 11:13

G4POP wrote:Stefano,
Please let me have a screenshot of the Eterlogic window
Sorry, I'm at work now.
I don't use Eterlogic VSP, I use VSP Manager by K5FR.

Tonight I'll give you the screenshot.

Thanx
73's
Stefano
SWL I0-466/LT

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5021
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 22 Oct 2013, 12:07

Hi Sandro,
Now that I have installed the K5FR VSP I can emulate your problem and agree that the mode is not working correctly.

I think its something to do with how Omnirig is instructed and I am talking to Daniele and also Simon about this.

Will get back to you as soon as I can
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
I2782VE
Novice Class
Posts: 29
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 10:12
Location: Rome, Latina, Treviso...
Contact:

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by I2782VE » 22 Oct 2013, 12:26

Thanx Terry!
73's
Stefano
SWL I0-466/LT

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5021
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 22 Oct 2013, 16:33

Hi Stefano,
Daniele and I have spent most of the day on this one and I have also been speaking to Simon.

Although it was not Simons intention for the serial port facility to work with Omnirig as you have found it does to some degree. However it only seems to work with the K5FR VSP and I cant get it to work with the Eterlogic VSP Pair, very strange!

Daniele has checked and I have been de-bugging Log4OM but we have confirmed that we are sending the correct commands to Omnirig, the problem is that SDR-Radio Consul is sending back the wrong confirmation commands and this is why Log4OM is changing back to SSB.

Simon acknowledges that this is a bug in his software but points out that the serial port facility is not designed to work with Omnirig in this way. However he promised to resolve this when he gets time, but I guess that will not be immediately because he has a lot of commercial work to do.

So I am sorry that we cant help but at least we tried and you now know what the problem is.
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
I2782VE
Novice Class
Posts: 29
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 10:12
Location: Rome, Latina, Treviso...
Contact:

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by I2782VE » 22 Oct 2013, 17:52

A big thanx to you and Daniele!

Now I know where the problem is, it's a step ahead.
No problem waiting for a correction to SDR Console by Simon.

thanx for the effort and good DX ;)
73's
Stefano
SWL I0-466/LT

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2200
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by IW3HMH » 22 Oct 2013, 18:12

Terry, if Simon has a better way to interact (and he has one, if i remember well) we can move to this one.
Pse confirm if the document it's already on our bug tracking software... i can't remember...

Daniele
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5021
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 22 Oct 2013, 18:47

Yes we have all the documentation for the correct interfacing to SDR-Radio Consul on Mantis, Simon added the interface specifically for our use
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5021
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 22 Oct 2013, 19:04

There is also a UDP broadcast facility in SDR-Radio we can use
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5021
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by G4POP » 24 Oct 2013, 10:45

Simon has fixed the bug in his software and it works fine for me know.

I have sent the new SDR-Radio Consul download to Stefano fpr further testing.

Happy Days!
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
I2782VE
Novice Class
Posts: 29
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 10:12
Location: Rome, Latina, Treviso...
Contact:

Re: SDR-Radio with Log4OM

Post by I2782VE » 24 Oct 2013, 11:12

Yes it works!!

With SDR-Console 1549 beta the problem is solved.

Thanx a lot!
73's
Stefano
SWL I0-466/LT

Post Reply