6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post Reply
User avatar
SP2L
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 29 Aug 2019, 13:33
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Contact:

6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by SP2L » 02 Feb 2020, 01:40

Greetings.


It looks like if gridsquare is 6 digits long
then distance is _NOT_ calculated at all.

Not long ago I deleted similar QSO and re-entered all details
with grid 6 digits long and automagically distance got calculated.
Nonetheless such workaround is cumbersome and time consuming.

ZS5ZP.png
ZS5ZP.png (80.25 KiB) Viewed 571 times
Best regards.
Tom - SP2L
https://www.sp2l.ampr.org

User avatar
KI5IO
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 607
Joined: 16 Aug 2015, 16:30

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by KI5IO » 02 Feb 2020, 03:12

Tom,

Well ... here is a screen clip of my Recent QSO log and all distances are showing up as calculated with 6-digit Grid ID.

Maybe do a review of your Configuration settings ... there might be something there. I'll look at mine as well.
Attachments
Main-UI_Recent-QSOs.JPG
Main-UI_Recent-QSOs.JPG (146.38 KiB) Viewed 566 times
73 - Nolan Kienitz - KI5IO
Plano, TX

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1484
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by DF5WW » 02 Feb 2020, 06:54

Also on my installation all is fine with 4 and 6 digit grids- The only 0 distances are logged if no
locator was found at external services or found in JTDX logs.

log.png
log.png (21.92 KiB) Viewed 557 times
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 61
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by sq9jxb » 02 Feb 2020, 07:29

Hello DF5WW

And how do you explain it?
And nothing helped the manual edition of QSO.
During QSO, data from the servers was supplemented by Lof4OM, in JTDX and JT-Alert the locator agreed, and Distance is ZERO.

Regards
locator.png
locator.png (72.65 KiB) Viewed 556 times
Log4OM 2.4 , JTDX 2.1.0.x64, Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017/Musb2232FK , ATU-150 , LDG-AT-200Pro
SGC PowerClear, EMU0202
.........................................
73!
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1484
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by DF5WW » 02 Feb 2020, 08:18

Hi Jan,

could not explain this. What i see is that some 4 Digit locators working and some not, also
some 6 Digit locators work and others not. It also looks like it don´t make a difference the
last 2 digits are uppercase or lowercase. So i have no idea what´s wrong.

Are you using latest V 2.2.0.0 of Log4OM and did you have latest JTalert installed ?
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 61
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by sq9jxb » 02 Feb 2020, 09:41

Hi Juergen

Log4OM 2.2.0.0
JT-Alert 2.15.8
Build: 0000
Build type: Release
Build Date :25-01-2020

Regards
Log4OM 2.4 , JTDX 2.1.0.x64, Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017/Musb2232FK , ATU-150 , LDG-AT-200Pro
SGC PowerClear, EMU0202
.........................................
73!
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1484
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by DF5WW » 02 Feb 2020, 09:57

Hi Jan,

using "nearly" the same but i´m on latest Alpha of V2. So could be possible that there´s something
fixed in the next released version. In my installation all is working fine ...

;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 61
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by sq9jxb » 02 Feb 2020, 11:08

DF5WW wrote:
02 Feb 2020, 09:57
Hi Jan,

using "nearly" the same but i´m on latest Alpha of V2. So could be possible that there´s something
fixed in the next released version. In my installation all is working fine ...

;) ;)

Hi Juergen
It happened to me several times.
Not in the last QSO.
I am waiting for the new version of Log4OM, I hope that it will take into account my comments submitted to IW3HMH :)

Regards
Log4OM 2.4 , JTDX 2.1.0.x64, Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017/Musb2232FK , ATU-150 , LDG-AT-200Pro
SGC PowerClear, EMU0202
.........................................
73!
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
SP2L
Novice Class
Posts: 24
Joined: 29 Aug 2019, 13:33
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Contact:

Re: 6 digit Grid - distance NOT calculated

Post by SP2L » 02 Feb 2020, 11:32

Greetings Nolan, Juergen et al.


My previous message proved that nightly work is the root of all evil, Hi!

Forgot to pass important info:
- desktop PC, 16GB RAM, 4GHz system clock, a whole lot of HDD space
- Windows 8.1 64 bit
- Log4OM 2.2.0.0
- do NOT use JTAlert

In addition, manual QSO edit doesn't help at all - still no distance calculated (showed).
The fact that Log4OM2 works as expected in your installs is O.K.
but as it appears this is not necessarily the same in the average user case.

I agree with this statement "The only 0 distances are logged if no
locator was found at external services or found in JTDX logs
."
when speaking of YB1NWE and 3W1T stations.
But not for BA8MM, because QRZ.com has correct Grid Square.

Occasionally, simultaneously to Log4OM2 I run/launch Log4OM V1.4
where in regard aforementioned stations this scenario did not happened.

BA8MM.png
BA8MM.png (194.98 KiB) Viewed 529 times

Above screen shot taken shortly after conducting QSO with BA8MM.
JTDX digital clock shows different time but if you look at the left pane of JTDX,
in the very first row there is "001800" string confirming time of the event.

Sometime ago I had also at least _ONE_ such event
but decided to keep sharp lookout and only then report.

I do have also Windows 10 native installation
with JTDX, Log4OM V1.4, Log4OM2 and some other soft.
Time permitting, I will monitor whether such scenario happens also there.

What else should I, or you like me to supply in order to help
you conduct investigation in this, I would say, crucial matter?
Name it and I will do my best, please.
Best regards.
Tom - SP2L
https://www.sp2l.ampr.org

Post Reply