Satellite QSO's

Post Reply
EI2GLB
Old Man
Posts: 102
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 22:19

Satellite QSO's

Post by EI2GLB » 14 Mar 2020, 13:10

Hi All

Bit of a stupid question but what is the correct way to log a Sat QSO,

And I did look in the user manual I promis :D

Thanks
Trevor
EI2GLB

F4HGU
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Oct 2019, 10:19

Re: Satellite QSO's

Post by F4HGU » 18 Mar 2020, 18:18

Hello, it is not difficult but not straight forward and could have been easier. Here is my own experience, I am not expert yet in Version 2 ! :)

Let's take the example of QO-100.
You have to set up the TX band to 13cm, the RX band to 3cm.
Then you go to the menu "My station(F4)" and enable the "SAT MODE".
You have also to set up the propagation mode to "satellite" (just above the SAT MODE).
In the SAT MODE sub menu, you can select the stallite. QO-100 in my example.
For QO-100 the bands are SX, but it is not available yet in the default menu. I don't know if it is editable somewhere. I hope so.

I think that's all. It's a pity that we cannot save this configutation as default. It's very easy to miss one parameter and then miss the QSL in LOTW for example...

Good luck !

F4HGU
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Oct 2019, 10:19

Re: Satellite QSO's

Post by F4HGU » 18 Mar 2020, 19:59

I found out how to add the "SX" mode for QO-100.
You have to go to "HELP" menu then "Open Config Folder".

Once in the "Config folder" with your windows file explorer you have to edit "satmodelist" text file and add one line with "SX" mode.

When you restart the software, this modelist is available.

EI2GLB
Old Man
Posts: 102
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 22:19

Re: Satellite QSO's

Post by EI2GLB » 19 Mar 2020, 04:31

Thanks for the reply,

I will try that next time I am on the birds,

73
Trevor
EI2GLB

Post Reply