how tro restore a backup ?

Post Reply
ik2egl
Old Man
Posts: 288
Joined: 11 Feb 2014, 22:00
Location: Milan, Italy

how tro restore a backup ?

Post by ik2egl » 14 Mar 2020, 18:27

anyone can give me some information how to restore a backup ?
tnx
73 de Don IK2EGL

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7148
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: how tro restore a backup ?

Post by G4POP » 14 Mar 2020, 18:42

ik2egl wrote:
14 Mar 2020, 18:27
anyone can give me some information how to restore a backup ?
tnx
I thought I had included that in the manual, near the back with restore?
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
KD0ZV
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 633
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 13:42
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Contact:

Re: how tro restore a backup ?

Post by KD0ZV » 14 Mar 2020, 20:15

Terry,

Last time I looked at manual the restore section was not complete. Not like the V1 manual.

Rich

ik2egl
Old Man
Posts: 288
Joined: 11 Feb 2014, 22:00
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: how tro restore a backup ?

Post by ik2egl » 14 Mar 2020, 21:59

let me better clarify
there is an adif file and a json file

do you mean that we need to import the adif file only ?

in the import window , what are the difference among the 3 choices as 1) apply quality check etc ?
73 de Don IK2EGL

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7148
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: how tro restore a backup ?

Post by G4POP » 14 Mar 2020, 22:30

ik2egl wrote:
14 Mar 2020, 21:59
let me better clarify
there is an adif file and a json file

do you mean that we need to import the adif file only ?

in the import window , what are the difference among the 3 choices as 1) apply quality check etc ?
Depends on why you need to restore, database lost or corrupt

Configuration has been lost
73 Terry G4POP

ik2egl
Old Man
Posts: 288
Joined: 11 Feb 2014, 22:00
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: how tro restore a backup ?

Post by ik2egl » 15 Mar 2020, 00:14

Terry,
please explain me better, I am a bit lost.....
1) apply quality check --> ?
2) suggest quality checl --> ?
3) skip quality check

--> what is a quality check ? quality check on what ?

if you are restoring a database. you have already corrupted database(or, you need to restore an old database ) you overwrite it always

other question, I notice that restoring a database (and flagging the db deletion) it creates (unattended) a new backup database.
what is backupping ?
thanks

Don
73 de Don IK2EGL

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7148
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: how tro restore a backup ?

Post by G4POP » 15 Mar 2020, 08:21

ik2egl wrote:
15 Mar 2020, 00:14
Terry,
please explain me better, I am a bit lost.....
1) apply quality check --> ?

Checks DXCC is correct, Prefix is valid, country name, looks for award references like IOTA, SOTA ARI which may be in comments of normal ADIF fields - and updates (Changes) as required.

2) suggest quality check --> ?

As 1 above but does not apply changes

3) skip quality check

Does neither 1 or 2 above - Does nothing


if you are restoring a database. you have already corrupted database(or, you need to restore an old database ) you overwrite it always

No you do not because that could leave remnants of corrupted data, we clean the database and add new data

Or in the case of importing data which is not in the database just add it

other question, I notice that restoring a database (and flagging the db deletion) it creates (unattended) a new backup database.what is being backed up ?

The original data is being backed up before clearing the database because perhaps you may wish to revert to it at a later stage
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply