60 meter band not logging properly

V2 error reports
User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2643
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by IW3HMH » 25 Mar 2020, 13:25

All bugs will be fixed
Problem is finding why it works badly on a single band, where bands are exactly the same for the app
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

NS8K
Advanced Class
Posts: 55
Joined: 29 Oct 2017, 12:54

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by NS8K » 07 Apr 2020, 17:21

Hey gang, I've figured this out. I'm sure Daniele has too but if you can't wait for the update in a new release, here's what I've done.

The issue is in the bandplan xml document. I'm in the US so the document that affects my bandplan is Users\<probably your name>\AppData\Roaming\Log4OM2\bandplan\bandplan_dxcc291.xml

In that document you will find the following:
Orig 291 bandplan.png
Orig 291 bandplan.png (12.58 KiB) Viewed 460 times
In the 60 meter section you will find Channel 3 (hi-lited in yellow) defined as a PHONE frequency from 5356.995 to 5357.005. You will also find Channel 4 (hi-lited in orange) defined as DIGITAL with a similar frequency definition.

To fix this problem, edit the .xml to this:
Changed 291 bandplan.png
Changed 291 bandplan.png (12.75 KiB) Viewed 460 times
Channel 3 is changed to DIGITAL and Channel 4 to PHONE. I use JTAlert in conjunction with WSJT-X and the logged QSO frequency is the dial frequency + transmitted audio frequency. So I have changed the band end frequency for Channel 3 to 5357 + 2.8 Khz or 5359.805. I don't know why the additional 5 Hz is in the bandplan documents but I stayed with that convention.

Now when I edit a QSO I see this:
Log entry.png
Log entry.png (10.74 KiB) Viewed 460 times
Also, the ! with a red triangle around it on the main UI is gone when I transmit. I just used Notepad as the editor and of course saved a copy of the original .xml before starting.

What I've described is for DXCC Entity 291. If your Entity is different and you are experiencing the same problem, the solution should be the same but in a different bandplan document.

I hope this is helpful.
73 - Tom NS8K

User avatar
KI5IO
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 587
Joined: 16 Aug 2015, 16:30

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by KI5IO » 07 Apr 2020, 19:04

Be sure to save your original file for backup ... just in case.
73 - Nolan Kienitz - KI5IO
Plano, TX

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7160
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by G4POP » 07 Apr 2020, 19:30

KI5IO wrote:
07 Apr 2020, 19:04
Be sure to save your original file for backup ... just in case.
Better to save it as a user file then it wont get overwritten
73 Terry G4POP

NS8K
Advanced Class
Posts: 55
Joined: 29 Oct 2017, 12:54

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by NS8K » 07 Apr 2020, 21:47

G4POP wrote:
07 Apr 2020, 19:30
KI5IO wrote:
07 Apr 2020, 19:04
Be sure to save your original file for backup ... just in case.
Better to save it as a user file then it wont get overwritten
Terry,

I like that idea. How would I do that, rename the file to bandplan_dxcc291_user.xml ? I think that's how it worked in V1 when you edited files using the provided tool.
73 - Tom NS8K

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1458
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by DF5WW » 08 Apr 2020, 03:09

Save it as bandplan_dxcc291_user.xml

If you do so Log4OM will only use this bandplan for you and it wouldn´t be
overwritten if bandplan updates are installed in future versions.

;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

NS8K
Advanced Class
Posts: 55
Joined: 29 Oct 2017, 12:54

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by NS8K » 08 Apr 2020, 03:50

DF5WW wrote:
08 Apr 2020, 03:09
Save it as bandplan_dxcc291_user.xml

If you do so Log4OM will only use this bandplan for you and it wouldn´t be
overwritten if bandplan updates are installed in future versions.

;) ;)
Juergen,

Thank you for the tip, that was how it worked in V1 too.

However, I just tried this and if I only have bandplan_dxcc291_user.xml in the bandplan folder it works fine but if I also have the original bandplan_dxcc291.xml in the folder, Log4OM uses the original file, not my modified one. That doesn't seem correct. It should prefer the user version over the original file. Perhaps a little bug there.
73 - Tom NS8K

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1458
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by DF5WW » 08 Apr 2020, 15:45

By the way, forgot so say it. After you have saved the new bandpan_dxcc291_user.xml did
you have restarted the software ? That´s a must have or it don´t works for the moment.

;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

NS8K
Advanced Class
Posts: 55
Joined: 29 Oct 2017, 12:54

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by NS8K » 09 Apr 2020, 01:04

DF5WW wrote:
08 Apr 2020, 15:45
By the way, forgot so say it. After you have saved the new bandpan_dxcc291_user.xml did
you have restarted the software ? That´s a must have or it don´t works for the moment.
Juergen,

Yes, Log4OM was restarted. In fact, I ended Log4OM before making the file name changes. I then restarted Log4OM.
73 - Tom NS8K

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7160
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: 60 meter band not logging properly

Post by G4POP » 09 Apr 2020, 07:46

NS8K wrote:
09 Apr 2020, 01:04
DF5WW wrote:
08 Apr 2020, 15:45
By the way, forgot so say it. After you have saved the new bandpan_dxcc291_user.xml did
you have restarted the software ? That´s a must have or it don´t works for the moment.
Juergen,

Yes, Log4OM was restarted. In fact, I ended Log4OM before making the file name changes. I then restarted Log4OM.
Try bandplan_user_dxcc291.xml
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply