Backups

General discussions about Log4OM features
User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5160
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Backups

Post by G4POP » 25 Mar 2014, 11:38

I speak to many users both by email and on Skype or Teamviewer and I am surprised just how many have not set up the backup facility provided in Options/Settings 1

It really is important to have regular auto backups so please make sure that it is set up.
73 Terry G4POP

W3LI
Advanced Class
Posts: 92
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 14:27

Re: Backups

Post by W3LI » 08 Apr 2014, 14:45

Terry, Can't find any instructions as to how to set up a backup in the manual????
Andy, W3LI

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5160
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Backups

Post by G4POP » 08 Apr 2014, 15:42

You are correct I will add that to guide!

However ....

Options/Settings 1 tab
Righthand side half way down
"Backup folders (Empty default)" set path in top field by selecting the button to the right
"Backup depth" set it to 6
If you need a second backup then add a path in the "Optional secondary backup folder" field

See image below
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (139.97 KiB) Viewed 10900 times
73 Terry G4POP

K7PT
Moderator
Posts: 726
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:54

Re: Backups

Post by K7PT » 08 Apr 2014, 17:00

In explaining to a user the backup setup, I clicked on the gray box to the right of the file location which opened the window asking for the folder. I then canceled as I didn't to change my current loction. The cancel function cleared my normal backup route.

If I cancel a operation, everything should remain as it was before the operation started.

Me thinks this is not right. :(
K7PT-Chuck "#1 Top of the Honor Roll"

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2238
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Backups

Post by IW3HMH » 08 Apr 2014, 22:05

I will check that, thanks Chuck
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

W3LI
Advanced Class
Posts: 92
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 14:27

Re: Backups

Post by W3LI » 08 Apr 2014, 23:35

Tnx Terry, adding this would be good. Chuck bailed me out this AM, Tnx Chuck.

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2238
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Backups

Post by IW3HMH » 09 Apr 2014, 09:38

Chuck, fixed.
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

K7PT
Moderator
Posts: 726
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:54

Re: Backups

Post by K7PT » 09 Apr 2014, 09:46

TU Daniele :D
K7PT-Chuck "#1 Top of the Honor Roll"

User avatar
G4DWV - Guy
Old Man
Posts: 370
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 17:02

Re: Backups

Post by G4DWV - Guy » 16 Jan 2015, 19:22

Vy sorry to bump an old thread chaps.

'Backup folder (empty=default)' is not at all helpful as it does not give one a clue where the backup is actually located.
You've never known happiness until you're married; but by then it is too late.

K7PT
Moderator
Posts: 726
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:54

Re: Backups

Post by K7PT » 16 Jan 2015, 19:43

If you click on the "View Config Path" button it displays the path were it will be found if the "default" is used.

C:\Users\K7PT\AppData\Roaming\LogOM\Backup file name.
K7PT-Chuck "#1 Top of the Honor Roll"

Post Reply