Page 1 of 2

Backups

Posted: 25 Mar 2014, 10:38
by G4POP
I speak to many users both by email and on Skype or Teamviewer and I am surprised just how many have not set up the backup facility provided in Options/Settings 1

It really is important to have regular auto backups so please make sure that it is set up.

Re: Backups

Posted: 08 Apr 2014, 13:45
by W3LI
Terry, Can't find any instructions as to how to set up a backup in the manual????
Andy, W3LI

Re: Backups

Posted: 08 Apr 2014, 14:42
by G4POP
You are correct I will add that to guide!

However ....

Options/Settings 1 tab
Righthand side half way down
"Backup folders (Empty default)" set path in top field by selecting the button to the right
"Backup depth" set it to 6
If you need a second backup then add a path in the "Optional secondary backup folder" field

See image below

Re: Backups

Posted: 08 Apr 2014, 16:00
by K7PT
In explaining to a user the backup setup, I clicked on the gray box to the right of the file location which opened the window asking for the folder. I then canceled as I didn't to change my current loction. The cancel function cleared my normal backup route.

If I cancel a operation, everything should remain as it was before the operation started.

Me thinks this is not right. :(

Re: Backups

Posted: 08 Apr 2014, 21:05
by IW3HMH
I will check that, thanks Chuck

Re: Backups

Posted: 08 Apr 2014, 22:35
by W3LI
Tnx Terry, adding this would be good. Chuck bailed me out this AM, Tnx Chuck.

Re: Backups

Posted: 09 Apr 2014, 08:38
by IW3HMH
Chuck, fixed.

Re: Backups

Posted: 09 Apr 2014, 08:46
by K7PT
TU Daniele :D

Re: Backups

Posted: 16 Jan 2015, 18:22
by G4DWV - Guy
Vy sorry to bump an old thread chaps.

'Backup folder (empty=default)' is not at all helpful as it does not give one a clue where the backup is actually located.

Re: Backups

Posted: 16 Jan 2015, 18:43
by K7PT
If you click on the "View Config Path" button it displays the path were it will be found if the "default" is used.

C:\Users\K7PT\AppData\Roaming\LogOM\Backup file name.