Shutdown Omnirig on program exit?

Need help? - Post here and we will find a solution for you.
Post Reply
G4AON
Advanced Class
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Oct 2015, 21:19

Shutdown Omnirig on program exit?

Post by G4AON » 13 Nov 2015, 09:46

After running Log4OM, I have to manually stop Omnirig if I want to run anything else with my rig.

Is there a means of shutting down Omnirig on program exit? Perhaps an option "tick box" as maybe not everyone would want to shut it down.

73 Dave

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2573
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Shutdown Omnirig on program exit?

Post by IW3HMH » 13 Nov 2015, 16:43

I can "kill" omnirig, but usually is not an intended function because will also stop every other software connected to omnirig
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

G4AON
Advanced Class
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Oct 2015, 21:19

Re: Shutdown Omnirig on program exit?

Post by G4AON » 13 Nov 2015, 19:22

IW3HMH wrote:I can "kill" omnirig, but usually is not an intended function because will also stop every other software connected to omnirig
Perhaps with an option box?
I needed to update the firmware on my K3 and had to manually shut down Omnirig, not hard, but a little messy.

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6561
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Shutdown Omnirig on program exit?

Post by G4POP » 14 Nov 2015, 14:56

G4AON wrote:After running Log4OM, I have to manually stop Omnirig if I want to run anything else with my rig.

Is there a means of shutting down Omnirig on program exit? Perhaps an option "tick box" as maybe not everyone would want to shut it down.

73 Dave
I am intrigued by this?

My Log4OM set up uses Omnirig with an Icom 7600 as rig 1 and an Icom IC7100 as rig 2

When I close Log4om the com port is released for both radios and I can open any other software like MixW, HRD, DX Labs etc. using the com ports that ere just a moment before being used by Log4om/Omnirig

Perhaps you could provide a description of your set up and what other software you run that requires you to manually close Omnirig

I am assuming that you have got the latest version of Omnirig installed?
73 Terry G4POP

G4AON
Advanced Class
Posts: 54
Joined: 15 Oct 2015, 21:19

Re: Shutdown Omnirig on program exit?

Post by G4AON » 16 Nov 2015, 09:24

Hi Terry

Sorted! I also run CW Skimmer which shouldn't use Omnirig as it's not controlling a rig. However, CW Skimmer does start Omnirig... So, closing Skimmer and Log4OM also shuts down Omnirig.

All is well, I'll go back to sleep now!

73 Dave

Post Reply