Icom 7300 OmniRig baud rate limitation??

Need help? - Post here and we will find a solution for you.
Post Reply
wa9zvf
Novice Class
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Apr 2015, 15:54

Icom 7300 OmniRig baud rate limitation??

Post by wa9zvf » 23 Dec 2017, 03:24

I just set up my 7300 with OmniRig and it ,seems to be working fine at 9600 baud. I tried increasing the rate to 19,200 baud and 38,400 baud and the connection would not work. Are there any other parameters e.g. stop bits etc. that also need to be changed at higher baud rates? I'm using a small Atom powered tablet but I would think the communications would be handled by a dedicated chip and that the relatively slow Atom would not be an issue. Any ideas would be appreciated.

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1050
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Icom 7300 OmniRig baud rate limitation??

Post by DF5WW » 23 Dec 2017, 16:25

There are no different parameters to set when you use higher baudrates. If you have set Omnirig and your 7300 to the same
baudrate and it didn´t work properly it´s a problem with the processor speed of your tablet.

You´re right if yo say that that the communication with your radio will be handled by a dedicatet chip but this chip has
to communicate with the main processor too and the main processor handles the communication between Log4OM and
Omnirig and if the main proc is slow ..... !

Try a faster PC and you´ll see that higher speed is working. ;) ;)

Maybe Santa will give you an new one, HI. Have nice x-mas day´s ;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5769
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Icom 7300 OmniRig baud rate limitation??

Post by G4POP » 24 Dec 2017, 09:00

I have just checked with some friends who own the 7300 and use Log4OM/Omnirig and all of them are using the higher baud rate settings without issue.

I suspect your PC or perhaps you failed to install the GENUINE Icom USB drivers before connecting the 7300 to the computer.

You should also ensure that Omnirig is installed using the 'Run as an administrator' option during the install by right clicking on the installer.
73 Terry G4POP

wa9zvf
Novice Class
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Apr 2015, 15:54

Re: Icom 7300 OmniRig baud rate limitation??

Post by wa9zvf » 24 Dec 2017, 15:29

The Icom 7300 will run at 115k baud. I had the setup incorrect within the 7300.

Ray Mikula
WA9ZVF

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5769
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Icom 7300 OmniRig baud rate limitation??

Post by G4POP » 24 Dec 2017, 18:35

wa9zvf wrote:
24 Dec 2017, 15:29
The Icom 7300 will run at 115k baud. I had the setup incorrect within the 7300.

Ray Mikula
WA9ZVF
Probably you had the radio Baud rate set to 9600?
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply