IC7610 Support on HamLib

Need help? - Post here and we will find a solution for you.
SpaceDawg
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 08:34

IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by SpaceDawg » 31 Jul 2018, 08:45

Hi,

I've given up with OmniRig I just cannot get it working with my 7610. However, HamLib is working with WSJTX and other apps, but the 7610 is not in the list of rigs within Log4OM. I'm assuming I just need to update the Rig library and I should be ok? If so where is the library located on a windows 10 install.

Thanks


Chris
M0VUE

User avatar
DF5WW
Moderator
Posts: 949
Joined: 02 May 2013, 10:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by DF5WW » 31 Jul 2018, 10:09

Try C:/user/username/appdata/roaming/logom/hamlib ... ;) ;)

But why you don´t get Omnirig to run ? Did you run it as Administrator (recommended) ?
Most of all users have problems with hamlib but not with Omnirig.

;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

SpaceDawg
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 08:34

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by SpaceDawg » 31 Jul 2018, 14:20

Hi,

I have tried a lot to get Omnirig running and I can't. I've tried two different PC's and radio.

I've been using the Omnirig client to debug and this is what I get, no matter what settings.
Omni.PNG
Omni.PNG (47.26 KiB) Viewed 371 times
The thing is other applications are working fine.


Chris

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5077
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by G4POP » 31 Jul 2018, 19:44

I wonder if you failed to install the genuine Icom USB drivers before connecting the radio to the computer?

If you did not then the normal Windows drivers would have auto installed and they wont work properly with the latest breed of Icom radios.

I know for a fact that we have several users that have 7610 and 7600 and the work fine with Omnirig.

Hamlib is usually a problem with Icom radios of all ages
73 Terry G4POP

SpaceDawg
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 08:34

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by SpaceDawg » 01 Aug 2018, 05:48

Nope all done before and the drivers are the correct signed ones. Icom have spent a lot of time recently re releasing drivers.

Chris
M0VUE

User avatar
LA9FFA
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 81
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 16:59
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by LA9FFA » 01 Aug 2018, 08:38

Here is my setup:

Icom 7610 setup
Go to: Menu -> Set -> Connectors -> CI-V
CI-V Baud Rate 19200
CI-V Transceive ON
CI-V USB Unlink From Remote
CI-V USB Baud Rate 115200
---------------------------------------------
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (5.83 KiB) Viewed 348 times
73`s De Rolf LA9FFA.

Member of: NRRL/ARRL/LA4O/LADX Group.
Honor Roll #Mixed #CW #8 Band DXCC.

SpaceDawg
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 08:34

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by SpaceDawg » 01 Aug 2018, 08:54

Thanks I will give that a go when I get home later tonight.

Chris
M0VUE

User avatar
G4DWV - Guy
Old Man
Posts: 368
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 17:02

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by G4DWV - Guy » 01 Aug 2018, 17:56

Hi Chris,

One thing to try. Apparently, if there is a chain of software that work together and one is running as admin, they all have to. Got this from the Omnirig programmer himself.

The other thing to try is to set the rig in whatever program you are trying to link to as "OmniRig Rig 1" if using the Rig 1 tab in Omnirig and NOT as IC-7610. Also, make sure that the baud rates all match. You WILL have probs if they do not.

These are things that I have learnt the hard way. I have an IC-7300 and use Omnirig with JTDX and Log4OM FB.

73 de Guy G4DWV 4X1LT
You've never known happiness until you're married; but by then it is too late.

SpaceDawg
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 08:34

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by SpaceDawg » 02 Aug 2018, 09:48

Right,

I give up!!! I design and implement software for a living and I have no idea why this is such a mess (I know I'm whinging).

I have admin rights on my laptop, I am the administrator and if I use the setting everyone else seems to be using WSJTX stops working.

Grr.

Chris
M0VUE
P.S. Just venting thanks for trying to help, I wish Radio Ham has something like ASCOM for Radio's then the manufacturer would need to get their act together as would the third parties.

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5077
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: IC7610 Support on HamLib

Post by G4POP » 02 Aug 2018, 10:25

SpaceDawg wrote:
02 Aug 2018, 09:48

I have admin rights on my laptop, I am the administrator
I understand that but have you installed ALL programs to "run as an administrator"? As detailed on page 9 of our user guide

If all else fails install Team viewer and I will try to assist
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply