LOG4OM does not start

Need help? - Post here and we will find a solution for you.
dk2lo
Advanced Class
Posts: 96
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 16:45
Location: North Germany

LOG4OM does not start

Post by dk2lo » 09 Mar 2020, 16:18

My LOG4OM V1.3 does not start any more. The Communicator do not show up and the task manager displays LOG4OM with 30% CPU.

Till yesterday everyhing worked fine every day.
All other programs behave well and I have not installed any new software for a long time. Also there was no Windows update yesterday. I am running Win10 64bit.
I tried to start LOG4OM without SQlite database (to eliminate a curruptive db) to see if I can start with a new db but same behaviour.

Any ideas, suggestions are appreciated very much.
73 Olaf DK2LO

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7144
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by G4POP » 09 Mar 2020, 16:34

Suggest installing latest update version 1.41
73 Terry G4POP

dk2lo
Advanced Class
Posts: 96
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 16:45
Location: North Germany

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by dk2lo » 09 Mar 2020, 16:48

Hi Terry,

tnx for the fast reply!

Should I try V2? I found in the Backup folder the latest adi files I could use hopefully for import.
73 Olaf DK2LO

dk2lo
Advanced Class
Posts: 96
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 16:45
Location: North Germany

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by dk2lo » 09 Mar 2020, 17:04

Hi Terry,

I tried 1.41 as advised and it works! Any idea what was the reason for the fault?

Thanks a lot and have a nice day.
73 Olaf DK2LO

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by DF5WW » 09 Mar 2020, 17:11

Hi Olaf,

not shure what´s the reason but as long as you not have updated to newer versions i still wonder
that it has been worked for you. Since 1.30 we have had some maintenance upgrades when ADIF
format has been changed or if LotW or Clublog have changed anything. The best way is to checking
the website or the forum to see is there a new upgrade.

I don´t mean changes from V1 to V2 but you was on a vy old version of V1 with 1.30 ... ;) ;)

By the way, Lele says in another thread he will V1 leave still alive for a year or so. Maybe longer if the usuage
is high enough. But only maintenance like bugfixes or changes on external sources. No new implementations.
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7144
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by G4POP » 09 Mar 2020, 17:32

dk2lo wrote:
09 Mar 2020, 17:04
Hi Terry,

I tried 1.41 as advised and it works! Any idea what was the reason for the fault?

Thanks a lot and have a nice day.
Quiet a lot of changes since 1.30 so could be anything, that's why it's always best to use latest version

Installing version 2 will not affect version 1 you can run both at same time so why not try it.

But PLEASE read the user guide and quick start guide before installing because V2 is completely different, there are also video guides on YouTube to help you.
73 Terry G4POP

dk2lo
Advanced Class
Posts: 96
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 16:45
Location: North Germany

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by dk2lo » 09 Mar 2020, 18:42

Hi Jürgen, Hi Terry,

I just realized that I was on V1.33, but also very old. I normally change my software only when I need to fix bugs or desire new available features. Till now my old release was running very stable and reliable.

I love to read manuals and I am very happy that LOG4OM has such a good documentation. I will definitely read everything before I will play with Version 2. I already started with the "quick start guide".

Many thanks!
73 Olaf DK2LO

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Kraam, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by DF5WW » 09 Mar 2020, 18:52

Never change a running system could be wrong, HI. In case of changes in ADIF,
Clublog and/or the LotW we need some updates all the time. So, we also have
some awards in the list and the changes for the needed rows in SOTA, IOTA and
some others where heavy. So changes sometimes are needed ...


;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... ALT-512 SDR (10W) , 50 m random wire at CG-3000 autotuner ...

User avatar
G1YBB
Advanced Class
Posts: 93
Joined: 07 Jun 2015, 19:32
Location: Hereford, England
Contact:

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by G1YBB » 13 Mar 2020, 14:12

I just logged in to post the exact same problem.
Last night I fired up the older Log4OM on my tablet, it worked. I then realised I wanted to run Minos and see what the correct com port to use for CAT was so I closed Log4OM and ran minos, closed that.
Log4OM would not run at all, exact same thing 30% (about) in task manager.
I run it from a dropbox folder and have the exact same issue on the desktop.

But what changes could possibly happen in 5 minutes?

I use the portable version BTW. According the the readme.rtf v1.22

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 7144
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: LOG4OM does not start

Post by G4POP » 13 Mar 2020, 14:19

G1YBB wrote:
13 Mar 2020, 14:12
I just logged in to post the exact same problem.
Last night I fired up the older Log4OM on my tablet, it worked. I then realised I wanted to run Minos and see what the correct com port to use for CAT was so I closed Log4OM and ran minos, closed that.
Log4OM would not run at all, exact same thing 30% (about) in task manager.
I run it from a dropbox folder and have the exact same issue on the desktop.

But what changes could possibly happen in 5 minutes?

I use the portable version BTW. According the the readme.rtf v1.22
Please update to version 1.41
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply