Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Yes, sometimes it happens... Please report any bugs here
Post Reply
ON6NG
Novice Class
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Mar 2016, 19:21

Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by ON6NG » 31 Aug 2016, 18:29

Hello

I have a µHam USB. I have set the port for CAT to COM14. Hamlib does not work with this port set to COM14.

I have tested this issue with rigctld in a Commandscreen.
Hamlib can handle up to COM9. Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher.

Perhaps:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/115831

No problem for me. I use OmniRig.

Marc

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 5714
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by G4POP » 01 Sep 2016, 08:05

This is the problem with Hamlib it is not being maintained properly and is way out of date, if I had a choice I would completely remove Hamlib from log4OM and just provide Omnirig
73 Terry G4POP

w9mdb
Old Man
Posts: 109
Joined: 13 Jul 2014, 12:05

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by w9mdb » 12 Sep 2016, 03:38

hamlib isn't being mainatined properly or is Log4OM's hamlib is out-of-date?
hamlib gets patches all the time.
If there's something needs to be changed in hamlib just need to submit a patch.
I've submitted numerous patches and new backends.

de Mike W9MDB

w9mdb
Old Man
Posts: 109
Joined: 13 Jul 2014, 12:05

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by w9mdb » 12 Sep 2016, 04:10

Also....have you tried using the path for the COM device as shown on your Microsoft link from rigctld?
Not sure if you need to escape the backslashes when specifying them.\

I just tested COM10 on the latest hamlib and it works fine for me on Windows 10.

de Mike W9MDB

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2325
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by IW3HMH » 12 Sep 2016, 05:30

Simply replace the content of hamlib folder in settings folder with the last version of the Hamlib package.
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

w9mdb
Old Man
Posts: 109
Joined: 13 Jul 2014, 12:05

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by w9mdb » 12 Sep 2016, 12:51

I did confirm Log4OM could not open COM10 and tested the Log4OM version of rigctld and it also showed an error opening COM10.

I just tested latest hamlib as compiled by JTSDK for WSJT-X.
Replaced rigctld.exe with rigctld-wsjtx.exe and also had to copy libwinpthread-1.dll -- that's the only two files needed.

Log4OM then works on COM10

I'm a little confused as to how to use the serial port. I don't see a connect for that.

de Mike W9MDB

ON6NG
Novice Class
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Mar 2016, 19:21

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by ON6NG » 13 Sep 2016, 22:18

The Hamlib included with Log4OM dates back from 2012.

A newer Hamlib3 can be downloaded from https://sourceforge.net/projects/hamlib ... lib/3.0.1/ .
Run the installer hamlib-w32-3.0.1.exe and install (for example in C:\hamlib-w32-3.0.1\) .
The ..\bin subfolder contains the needed exe- and dll-files.
This rigctld can handle COM10 and higher.

A still more recent Hamlib3 is part of the JTSDK.


Marc

ON6NG
Novice Class
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Mar 2016, 19:21

Re: Hamlib can't handle COM10 and higher

Post by ON6NG » 18 Sep 2016, 23:01

Info to this forum

Daily built snapshots of Hamlib3 can be found at:
http://n0nb.users.sourceforge.net/ .

I downloaded the W32 and W64 zip-achives.
The exe- and dll-files are in the bin-folder.

I deleted the original by Log4OM installed files, and copied the new files.
Both W32 and W64 versions function on my 64bit PC.

Result: Hamlib3 works for me, with COM14, to a Elecraft K3.

Daniele IW3HMH mailed me about an update in the next release.


Marc on6ng

Post Reply