Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Yes, sometimes it happens... Please report any bugs here
VE3VEE
Old Man
Posts: 242
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 00:59

Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by VE3VEE » 02 Aug 2014, 21:23

My cluster filter is set to highlight "By LoTW received". However, in the main cluster window, the new version 1.18 will not color new countries in red color. Each time I start version 1.18, I have to go to "Highlights" to first change my setting to some other option, and then back to my preferred option of "By LoTW received", after which it works... till I close LOG4OM and start it again. Then LOG4OM again doesn't highlight new countries and I have yet again change my preferred setting to another option, and than back again to my preferred option, to make it "temporarily" work.

Something became broken about this feature. It's as if the software didn't remember my selected option even though the radio button does show my option selected.

Thanks,

73 Marvin VE3VEE

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by IW3HMH » 03 Aug 2014, 09:51

i will investigate on that.
We didn't changed anything on that part from previous release...
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

VE3VEE
Old Man
Posts: 242
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 00:59

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by VE3VEE » 03 Aug 2014, 13:41

Hi Daniele,

In this version I noticed a new "Save" button in the "Filters" and also in the "Highlights" tab. Is it possible it is not really saving my preferred highlights option? Even though I do see the "by LoTW received" radio button selected when I start the program, it still appears to behave as if "by country" was selected (perhaps the default setting?).

Not just the red color is affected in the main cluster window, but also the green (mode and band).

Thanks,

73 Marvin VE3VEE

User avatar
DF5WW
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 1002
Joined: 02 May 2013, 09:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by DF5WW » 03 Aug 2014, 14:22

I made a test spot ans it looks like it work as it should ...... ;)
Attachments
df5ww.PNG
df5ww.PNG (75.97 KiB) Viewed 2522 times
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by IW3HMH » 03 Aug 2014, 16:00

sorry, i thought i have told you guys how the save button works...
well, the save button saves the current configuration on the cluster, the one that will be used on next start.
It's more "clear" to understand than "the last cluster changed wins"

lele
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

VE3VEE
Old Man
Posts: 242
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 00:59

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by VE3VEE » 03 Aug 2014, 16:51

Daniele,

Yes, I think the new "SAVE" button is not working as it should. The "SAVE" button saves the selected radio button, it saves even the highlights for the small cluster window, but it doesn't have any effect on the main cluster window. No matter which radio button I select, what ever highlight option I save, the main window (after restart of LOG4OM) always shows highlight colors as if "BY COUNTRY" highlight option was selected.

:-)

73 Marvin VE3VEE

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by IW3HMH » 04 Aug 2014, 11:00

I will check that. Thanks for reporting
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

VE3VEE
Old Man
Posts: 242
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 00:59

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by VE3VEE » 04 Aug 2014, 17:59

version118.gif
version118.gif (155.99 KiB) Viewed 2480 times
Lele, the above screen shot illustrates the problem. The small cluster window correctly shows V85SS in red color, but the main large cluster window doesn't show V85SS in red. But when I select any of the other highlights options and then return back to my "by LoTW received", the colors in the main cluster window switch to the correct values and all is OK.

No matter what highlights options users save, after LOG4OM restarts, the main cluster window always shows colors as if the "BY COUNTRY" option was selected.

Hope this helps.

73 Marvin VE3VEE

VA3AG
Old Man
Posts: 191
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 07:20
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by VA3AG » 05 Aug 2014, 13:44

VE3VEE wrote:
version118.gif
Lele, the above screen shot illustrates the problem. The small cluster window correctly shows V85SS in red color, but the main large cluster window doesn't show V85SS in red. But when I select any of the other highlights options and then return back to my "by LoTW received", the colors in the main cluster window switch to the correct values and all is OK.

No matter what highlights options users save, after LOG4OM restarts, the main cluster window always shows colors as if the "BY COUNTRY" option was selected.

Hope this helps.

73 Marvin VE3VEE
I can confirm that what is happening to Marvin is also happening to me. and I also see that on every cluster refresh, the spots will be highlighted in grey and on the next refresh the highlight will go away. If i have a station on the cluster that i have worked and confirmed via LoTW, it will not be highlighted on the main cluster window but it will be on the small cluster window.

73
Aldo VA3AG

VE3VEE
Old Man
Posts: 242
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 00:59

Re: Version 1.18 doesn't color new countries in red color

Post by VE3VEE » 05 Aug 2014, 15:27

Hi Aldo,

Thanks for confirming the issue on your end, too.
worked and confirmed
You might have meant "worked and unconfirmed". :-)

73 Marvin VE3VEE

Post Reply