Fldigi PTT issue

Regarding connecting to external program's.
Post Reply
ha5uk
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 14:54

Fldigi PTT issue

Post by ha5uk » 09 Jan 2018, 19:25

Hello all,

brand new to Log4OM and group, I have looked up in the forums and don't see an answer for my issue, but I might have missed.

Paired WSJTX/JTAlert and Fldigi with the logger. WSJTX works flawless right and back on every aspect.
Fldigi also works fine, except: no PTT action. Communicator seems ok, Freq shown and changes right, logging is also ok. Hit a line on cluster puts details into Fldigi. Nice response for ptt in the logger but nothing in Fldigi.
I have followed the manual (page 186), and launch Fldigi prior. Using omnirig, CAT com port generated by Microham MK2.
Fldigi Rig controll is XMl-RPC, all other is unchecked. Started everything again many times.

Any hint what to do to make ptt alive?

User avatar
DF5WW
Moderator
Posts: 923
Joined: 02 May 2013, 10:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by DF5WW » 10 Jan 2018, 12:11

Hello OM,

don´t use a COM in Fldigi Settings. Only XML-RPC is required and PTT will be o.K. by Log4OM & Omnirig.
Have had some QSO´s with Fldigi last Monday and no PTT problem.

In my Radio settings only XML-RPC is enabled not any COM in Hardware PTT or Flrig, Hamlib or
others. All is disabled.

;) ;)

B.t.w. On my end Tune Button in latest Fldigi is not working but if i send a Macro or hit the TX button all
is working fine. Macros in Fldigi should be start with <TX> and end with <RX>
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

User avatar
G4POP
Moderator
Posts: 4851
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 15:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by G4POP » 10 Jan 2018, 13:06

DF5WW wrote:
10 Jan 2018, 12:11
B.t.w. On my end Tune Button in latest Fldigi is not working but if i send a Macro or hit the TX button all
is working fine. Macros in Fldigi should be start with <TX> and end with <RX>
Tune button is a known defficiency with FLDigi XML/RPC that FLDigi developers seem to be ignoring
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
DF5WW
Moderator
Posts: 923
Joined: 02 May 2013, 10:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by DF5WW » 10 Jan 2018, 14:14

Not a problem for me Terry, i can use TX Button ;) :D

Don´t have to tune anything so my automatted Tuner is working great and
i have a Tune button at the radio himself .. HI

;)
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

ha5uk
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 14:54

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by ha5uk » 10 Jan 2018, 16:09

Thanks Juergen,

But as I wrote in Fldigi only XML-RPC is enabled others disabled - fallowed former tips. All working but ptt...brrr

73, George

User avatar
DF5WW
Moderator
Posts: 923
Joined: 02 May 2013, 10:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by DF5WW » 10 Jan 2018, 19:36

Hi George,

your Modem gives you several virtual COM ports. What is the reason if you start Log4OM only and hit the PTT Button ?
Did PTT work in Log4OM or not ? If not try another COM of your Modem in Omnirig.

I don´t have a Microham i´m using a Digimaster Pro3 from ZLP Electronics and all is working fine here. I have also
different virtual COM´s buter after a bit testing i found the right one.

;) ;)
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

ha5uk
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 14:54

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by ha5uk » 11 Jan 2018, 00:39

Juergen,
Com port that issued must be ok. That drives all ptt's except Fldigi.
Tried different ones - same result. Pushing the ptt in Log4om was only a test. Ptt info should be passed via XML RPC along with freq, logging etc...
Reinstalled Fldigi - nothing better. Weird.

User avatar
DF5WW
Moderator
Posts: 923
Joined: 02 May 2013, 10:49
Location: Höhr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by DF5WW » 11 Jan 2018, 12:10

Hmmm .... have you try to play a bit with different RTS/DTR Settings in Omnirig ?
Is latest Omnirig installed with administrator privileges and Log4OM too ?

Omnirig.png
Omnirig.png (5.34 KiB) Viewed 675 times
73´s .. Juergen ... RedPitaya SDR 5 W, 20 mtr. indoor wireloop feeded with homemade ladderline (600 Ohms) ...

ha5uk
Novice Class
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 14:54

Re: Fldigi PTT issue

Post by ha5uk » 13 Jan 2018, 19:34

Solved. Tried everything, going to extremes eventually updated the router in Microham MK2. No setup change at all. Before that everything was ok except Fldigi's ptt while thru Log4om. After this firmware update the PTT is ok, but other issue popped up: N1MM always quits with ext. error when FSK is set for Digi modes. Nonsens hihi.

Post Reply