Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Regarding connecting to external program's.
Post Reply
wb9kpt
Advanced Class
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 May 2015, 00:56
Location: Evergreen, CO

Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Post by wb9kpt » 18 Jan 2016, 23:56

Hi, does anyone have this combo working? I have the latest version of Omnirig and IC-7600v2 ini. I'm also using VSPE - more on that later.

Log4OM and BandMaster work fine with Omnirig. However, if I then try to add HB9HQX using Omnirig nothing happens - the HB9HQX program times out and gives up. There is a cryptic note in the HB9HQX First Steps document: "OmniRig must be installed and configured but not running. "

If I start HB9HQX first and select Omnirig, HB9HQX works, but if I then start Log4OM/Bandmaster, I get the Omnirig configuration screen (twice) and nothing happens. No frequency display on Log4OM and BandMaster reports: "Omni-Rig is not installed".

I am able to run everything at once using DXLabs CI-V Commander (using VSPE) to control HB9HQX, but I would like to simplify the software environment...

Bill - WB9KPT

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6561
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Post by G4POP » 19 Jan 2016, 08:08

Not all programs are designed to multithred when using Omnirig like Bandmaster, CW Skimmer, DX Atlas and Log4OM, clearly HB9HQX cannot and this is causing a port conflict.

You will need to continue using a VSP manager to be able to run these programs simultaneously
73 Terry G4POP

wb9kpt
Advanced Class
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 May 2015, 00:56
Location: Evergreen, CO

Re: Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Post by wb9kpt » 19 Jan 2016, 21:16

Thanks Terry, appreciate the quick response.

HB9BRJ
Old Man
Posts: 107
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 10:46
Location: Schaffhausen

Re: Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Post by HB9BRJ » 20 Jan 2016, 19:56

I'm using JT65 HB9HQX and Log4OM with my K3 and OmniRig without any issues.
Don't know BandMaster, but maybe I should take a look and add it to the "family".

73, Markus HB9BRJ

wb9kpt
Advanced Class
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 May 2015, 00:56
Location: Evergreen, CO

Re: Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Post by wb9kpt » 23 Jan 2016, 18:30

Hi Terry, I found a good solution... now I'm curious why this works.

If I start HB9HQX using the "External software start" feature everything comes up fine. If I try and start it (or any other OmniRig client, such as the OmniRig Client.exe application) after Log4OM is up and fully running - it fails. Seems like Log4OM is "blocking" OmniRig after its fully up and running?

Bill - WB9KPT

wb9kpt
Advanced Class
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 May 2015, 00:56
Location: Evergreen, CO

Re: Using Omnirig with Log4OM/BandMaster and HB9HQX

Post by wb9kpt » 30 Jan 2016, 18:51

Thank you to Doug W7DRM for suggesting that I start all applications as an Administrator. Now everything works fine, no matter what order I start things. Thank you Windows 10!

Bill - WB9KPT

Post Reply