Callsign look with WSJT-X

User avatar
W7DRM
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 732
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 19:44

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by W7DRM » 18 Jan 2020, 07:08

For those having a problem getting the WSJTx or JTDX DX Call to auto populate in Log4OM V2, please see my post here - viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4324&start=10

Doug
W7DRM

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6381
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by G4POP » 18 Jan 2020, 07:09

Are WSJT, Omnirig and Log4OM all running as an administrator?
73 Terry G4POP

vk1hx
Novice Class
Posts: 23
Joined: 05 Dec 2019, 07:46

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by vk1hx » 18 Jan 2020, 07:34

Just an update.

I've tried a few different sequences and still the same results, I've even used Gridtracker in the middle as suggested by HB9GVJ. Now what I am getting is WSJT-X / JTDX mode (FT8 etc) showing in the Log4OM Callsign field. I can clear the Callsign field however every time WSJT-X decodes it repopulates the mode back in there.

I am sure this is something easy and overlooked but I am stumped and would appreciate some direction/other things to try.

Regards
Phil - VK1HX

vk1hx
Novice Class
Posts: 23
Joined: 05 Dec 2019, 07:46

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by vk1hx » 18 Jan 2020, 07:36

G4POP wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 07:09
Are WSJT, Omnirig and Log4OM all running as an administrator?
Negative. Do they need to be? My PC account is administrator level. Do I need to set Compatibility - Run this program as an admin, for each to get working? Is this what others have done? I didn't notice that requirement in the manual.
Last edited by vk1hx on 18 Jan 2020, 07:42, edited 1 time in total.

vk1hx
Novice Class
Posts: 23
Joined: 05 Dec 2019, 07:46

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by vk1hx » 18 Jan 2020, 07:39

W7DRM wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 07:08
For those having a problem getting the WSJTx or JTDX DX Call to auto populate in Log4OM V2, please see my post here - viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4324&start=10

Doug
W7DRM
Hi Doug,

I did check through your suggestions also. I am not running JTAlert, just WSJT-X and Log4OM V2 to remove any confusion of other ports being used.

Everything else is working flawlessly, logging into V2 and V1, clusters etc..

Cheers
Phil - VK1HX

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6381
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by G4POP » 18 Jan 2020, 07:50

vk1hx wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 07:36
G4POP wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 07:09
Are WSJT, Omnirig and Log4OM all running as an administrator?
Negative. Do they need to be? My PC account is administrator level. Do I need to set Compatibility - Run this program as an admin, for each to get working? Is this what others have done? I didn't notice that requirement in the manual.
If Omnirig is being used to multithread so that both Log4OM and WSJT can share the CAT control then yes you need to set all three to 'Run as an administrator' this has nothing to do with you being the sole admin.

I think you should try it anyway because I cannot understand why a few people have issues but many of us have this working fine
73 Terry G4POP

vk1hx
Novice Class
Posts: 23
Joined: 05 Dec 2019, 07:46

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by vk1hx » 18 Jan 2020, 07:55

If Omnirig is being used to multithread so that both Log4OM and WSJT can share the CAT control then yes you need to set all three to 'Run as an administrator' this has nothing to do with you being the sole admin.

I think you should try it anyway because I cannot understand why a few people have issues but many of us have this working fine


Thanks Terry,

I am now running all 3 as admin and still no joy. What has happened is the WSJT-X mode has stopped populating to the Callsign field in Log4OM.

Phil - VK1HX

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6381
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by G4POP » 18 Jan 2020, 07:56

vk1hx wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 07:39
W7DRM wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 07:08
For those having a problem getting the WSJTx or JTDX DX Call to auto populate in Log4OM V2, please see my post here - viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4324&start=10

Doug
W7DRM
Hi Doug,

I did check through your suggestions also. I am not running JTAlert, just WSJT-X and Log4OM V2 to remove any confusion of other ports being used.

Everything else is working flawlessly, logging into V2 and V1, clusters etc..

Cheers
Phil - VK1HX
Sometimes there is some other service using the port thats why I suggest trying other port numbers, not necessarily a radio program, and it uses the data.

Understand that once the UDP data has been received from the port its no longer available for Log4OM its not like you all que up for a serving at the diner and however many of you there are you get fed, its like there is just one portion, once its gone its gone, first come first served- you starve!
73 Terry G4POP

vk1hx
Novice Class
Posts: 23
Joined: 05 Dec 2019, 07:46

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by vk1hx » 18 Jan 2020, 08:08

Yeah I understand. However I'm not sure what other program would be using the 127.0.0.1:2333.

So are you saying just try different port numbers from 2333 for both JT and Log4OM UDP?

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6381
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Callsign look with WSJT-X

Post by G4POP » 18 Jan 2020, 08:18

vk1hx wrote:
18 Jan 2020, 08:08
Yeah I understand. However I'm not sure what other program would be using the 127.0.0.1:2333.

So are you saying just try different port numbers from 2333 for both JT and Log4OM UDP?
Yes choose a number that's not used by your other software and try it, nothing to lose
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply