Not reading Country_user.xml

V2 error reports
dl1clm
Advanced Class
Posts: 56
Joined: 04 Jul 2015, 13:13
Location: Emsland Germany

Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by dl1clm » 30 Jul 2020, 15:14

Hi All,

A few weeks ago I reported an error in the country.xml file ( wrong CQ zone for PJ2 Curacao ).
I got Terry's advice to create a Country_user.xml file and correct the CQ zone in it.
Unfortunately the Country_user.xml file is not used because Log4OM keeps reporting the wrong CQ Zone and apparently does not take the modified Country_user.xml.

I would like to report this as a bug.

73, Dick DL1CLM
Win10 64b v2004 Log4OM v2.8.0.0
IC 7300 / IC 756proII via Omnirig v1.19
Optibeam OB 9-5

N6VH
Old Man
Posts: 113
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 15:41

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by N6VH » 01 Aug 2020, 22:13

Dick,

When I type in a PJ2 call, I get the correct zone (9). Using Log4OM 2.8.0.0.

73,

Jim N6VH

dl1clm
Advanced Class
Posts: 56
Joined: 04 Jul 2015, 13:13
Location: Emsland Germany

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by dl1clm » 02 Aug 2020, 19:44

Hi Jim,

pse type in only PJ2 and look at the CQ zone, than complete the call wit "LS" (PJ2LS) and look for the correction that is made by ie QRZ.COM.
or try the call PJ2MAN, his CQ zone is not entered in QRZ.COM.

73 Dick
Win10 64b v2004 Log4OM v2.8.0.0
IC 7300 / IC 756proII via Omnirig v1.19
Optibeam OB 9-5

dl1clm
Advanced Class
Posts: 56
Joined: 04 Jul 2015, 13:13
Location: Emsland Germany

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by dl1clm » 02 Aug 2020, 19:52

Hi Jim,

I just dowloaded the latest Country.xml file and see:

<Continent>SA</Continent>
<CountryName>Curacao Is.</CountryName>
<CqZone>8</CqZone>
<CqZoneList>
<int>8</int>
</CqZoneList>
<Dxcc>517</Dxcc>
<ItuZone>11</ItuZone>
<IaruRegion>2</IaruRegion>

73 DIck
Win10 64b v2004 Log4OM v2.8.0.0
IC 7300 / IC 756proII via Omnirig v1.19
Optibeam OB 9-5

N6VH
Old Man
Posts: 113
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 15:41

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by N6VH » 03 Aug 2020, 20:40

Dick,

Yes, I see the same thing in my country.xml file. However, when I type in any of the examples you gave, the zone comes up as "8" for about a second, and then changes to "9". Incidentally, I don't use any lookups from QRZ, or HamQTH. I do use the Clublog list, and it shows Curacao as zone 9, with one exception. That entry shows an expiration date of 1968-12-31T23:59:59Z.

73,

Jim N6VH

dl1clm
Advanced Class
Posts: 56
Joined: 04 Jul 2015, 13:13
Location: Emsland Germany

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by dl1clm » 04 Aug 2020, 15:22

Jim,

That's very interesting. I see the same thing happening when I enter PJ2LS, first CQ zone 8 and after and second CQ zone 9.
I do use QRZ.com as info provider and that is where the update comes from.
When I type the call PJ2MAN, the CQ Zone stays at 8.

There is no big problem, the Country.xml needs to be updated, I don't understand why that isn't done.

As a solution you can normally modify the file itself and save it as Country_user.xml. In that case the problem is also solved and the corrected Country.xml will not be saved with every automatic update with the wrong CQ zone for Curacao.

However, the problem is that Log4OM 2 does not read and therefore does not use the Country_user.xml file.

73, Dick
Win10 64b v2004 Log4OM v2.8.0.0
IC 7300 / IC 756proII via Omnirig v1.19
Optibeam OB 9-5

N6VH
Old Man
Posts: 113
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 15:41

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by N6VH » 04 Aug 2020, 22:25

Dick,

Go to Settings/Program Configuration/Software Configuration/Info providers. Click on the Configuration Tab. Do you have "Use Clublog database" checked? That might be why we are getting different results. As I said, in your examples, including PJ2MAN, I get zone 9. The attached picture shows what I have set. It shows I have "ExternalSource" set as my third priority, but I don't usually use them.

73,

Jim N6VH
Attachments
Info Providers.jpg
Info Providers.jpg (244.98 KiB) Viewed 104 times

dl1clm
Advanced Class
Posts: 56
Joined: 04 Jul 2015, 13:13
Location: Emsland Germany

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by dl1clm » 06 Aug 2020, 15:02

Jim,

My settings were indeed different.
info provider.png
info provider.png (57.7 KiB) Viewed 73 times
I then adjusted the settings as you described it. Saved settings and then restarted Log4OM.
However, the result is still the same see here:
CQ-zone.png
CQ-zone.png (20.87 KiB) Viewed 73 times
73 Dick
Win10 64b v2004 Log4OM v2.8.0.0
IC 7300 / IC 756proII via Omnirig v1.19
Optibeam OB 9-5

N6VH
Old Man
Posts: 113
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 15:41

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by N6VH » 06 Aug 2020, 19:34

Dick,

Have you seen this message, and done the modification?

https://forum.log4om.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=5738

73,

Jim N6VH

dl1clm
Advanced Class
Posts: 56
Joined: 04 Jul 2015, 13:13
Location: Emsland Germany

Re: Not reading Country_user.xml

Post by dl1clm » 09 Aug 2020, 13:56

Thanks Jim,

I really appreciate your help.
I wasn't aware of that change and made the change, then downloaded the clublog file again and now there was data in it as well. Previously this file was empty except for the headers.
Unfortunately this didn't solve the problem either.
I have now simply changed the Country.xml, set the refresh to 30 days in the expectation that there will be a certain moment when someone from Log4OM will change this file.
The reason of this entry is actually that the offered workaround does not work; the change is made in Country_user.xml so that Log4OM v2 takes this file and not the default Country.xml. I can prove this very simply by making a change in Country.XML and even though Country_user.XML is present in the correct directory, this change is still shown.
During my work as a programmer I was always happy when someone pointed out a bug to me, that made my product better.
Thanks again for your help!

73 DIck
Win10 64b v2004 Log4OM v2.8.0.0
IC 7300 / IC 756proII via Omnirig v1.19
Optibeam OB 9-5

Post Reply