Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

General discussions V2
User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6522
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by G4POP » 17 Jan 2020, 08:14

roland wrote:
17 Jan 2020, 08:04
Would be great if this could be filtered on in LOG4OM. The information is there and can't be done on the CC Cluster side.
Seems were dammed if we do and dammed if we dont! We were asked dozens of times to provide this facility and worked hard to provide it.

I will add a user control to our to do list but cannot promise when or even if we can do that because it depends how much restructuring will be required.

This however will not stop the cluster sending data spots which are FT8 we are not in control of that
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 203
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by HB9VQQ » 17 Jan 2020, 08:25

This however will not stop the cluster sending data spots which are FT8 we are not in control of that
That's perfectly fine, just don't want to see them in my Cluster window, way too many of these spots shadowing the real stuff...
And if you implement that it would be another USP for LOG4OM :-)

Thanks
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6522
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by G4POP » 17 Jan 2020, 08:51

roland wrote:
17 Jan 2020, 08:25
This however will not stop the cluster sending data spots which are FT8 we are not in control of that
That's perfectly fine, just don't want to see them in my Cluster window, way too many of these spots shadowing the real stuff...
And if you implement that it would be another USP for LOG4OM :-)

Thanks
You can hide the column but the spots will always be sent until the cluster servers find a way of filtering them out.

I sense a kindred spirit regarding FT8? CW man?
73 Terry G4POP

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 203
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by HB9VQQ » 17 Jan 2020, 14:51

Hiding the column would not solve the problem :-)

Don't get me wrong I very much like Digi modes but just not "RR73" style of "conversation", that would make me tired within minutes.... Somebody has to defend our bands by using them not just one single frequency per band hihi.. I like FTx to get a rough sense of band condx by purely looking at the Bandscope.
I am more into RTTY, Olivia, Feldhell etc. and phone mode chasing DX.

I am not sure whether any other cluster software could filter out these FTx spots. That's why I believe this would be a nice addtion to LOG4OM.
I used HRD up to now, switched to LOG4OM two days ago, liked it very much, now my default Log.

Cheers mate
Roland
HB9VQQ
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2570
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by IW3HMH » 17 Jan 2020, 18:09

roland wrote:
16 Jan 2020, 23:05
Doug, I am using CC Cluster but did not find any possible way to only get rid of the FTx spots in there.Would be really helpful if that could be achieved with LOG4OM, since there is already "Spot Mode" available and could possibly be filtered on maybe in a future release.

Roland
Hi roland, spot mode is identified by Log4OM based on notes and internal engines. It's possible to filter them but unfortunately not in that release.
I'm appointing that.
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 203
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by HB9VQQ » 17 Jan 2020, 18:45

Thank you Daniele,

I see two solutions to this.

1.) Filter on the comment field from the DX Clusters spots, so we can configure a Filter matching content of the "Spot Mode" table.
2.) Add user configurable filter to exclude certain frequencies, in my case the FTx QRG's, from being displayed in the Cluster window.

Have a great weekend !
73
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

User avatar
W7DRM
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 739
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 19:44

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by W7DRM » 17 Jan 2020, 19:29

Roland,

What cluster are you using? Are you sure your cluster is using the CC Cluster system? Those commands work with VE7CC.

Try sending those commands manually in the Cluster management window and see if you get a good acknowledgement back from the Cluster.

Your cluster may be using a different system than CCC, in which case you will need to know the specific commands for that cluster system.

Doug
W7DRM

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 203
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by HB9VQQ » 17 Jan 2020, 21:27

Doug, absolutely yes. I am using CC Cluster 2.4481. The commands are working but FTx spots still getting through.

Roland
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

User avatar
KI5IO
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 428
Joined: 16 Aug 2015, 16:30

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by KI5IO » 17 Jan 2020, 22:18

Roland,

As you have noted you are using CC User for your cluster control, etc.. ... with a set/noxxxx command not working I would send a message to Lee Sawkins who is the guru there.

You can post at their reflector that is on Groups.io

It is called: CC-User
73 - Nolan Kienitz - KI5IO
Plano, TX

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 203
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hiding Cluster Spots FT4/FT8

Post by HB9VQQ » 17 Jan 2020, 22:39

The command is working, I get positive confirmation back from the cluster
2236 localhost:7300: *** Connected to: CC User
2236 localhost:7300: Welcome to CC User
2236 localhost:7300: Please enter your call:
2236 localhost:7300: login:
2236 localhost:7300: HB9VQQ-2
2236 localhost:7300: HB9VQQ-2 de VE7CC-1 >
2236 localhost:7300: Hello >
2236 localhost:7300: -> Set/NoFT4
2236 localhost:7300: -> Set/NoFT8
2236 localhost:7300: -> SH/DX 100
2236 localhost:7300: FT4 spots disabled
2236 localhost:7300: HB9VQQ-2 de VE7CC-1 17-Jan-2020 2236Z CCC >
2236 localhost:7300: FT8 spots disabled
still getting FTx spots

Image

It is because the Cluster is not parsing the comment field with the above commands. There is no Cluster command to filter on the comment field.
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

Post Reply