My struggle with Log4OM V2

General discussions V2
Post Reply
User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by sq9jxb » 19 Jan 2020, 11:58

Hello everyone

The longer I use this program, the more problems I find.
And yes:
Log4OM2 -> JTDX - does not log in QSO - you have to do it manually.
Log4OM2 -> JT-Alert -> JTDX - problem at the start:
The picture below:

Image


Log4OM -> FL-Digi - configuration problems and FL-Digi and Lof4OM2 to make it work properly.
I run Log4OM2 - and the program scans the .adi file selected in the Adif monitor option - why does it do it every time the program is started? - CPU load reaches 60% - scanning takes already 15 minutes and the end can not be seen.
I read about various methods of solving problems, e.g. with JTDX but it doesn't work.
I don't want to use the WSJT-X program with Log4OM2 because it doesn't suit me, I prefer JTDX.
And there are three options:
1 - JTDX and Log4OM2 and manual login
2 - WSJTX and LOg4OM2 - automatic login
3 - Stay with Log4OM v1 - no problems.

And finally, what's happening right after starting Log4OM V2


Log only has 3912 QSOs
What will be like switching to log with 11500 QSO

Image

Regards
Log4OM 2.2 , Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017, ATU-150 , SGC PowerClear
.........................................
Best regards.
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
kd0zv
Old Man
Posts: 422
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 13:42
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by kd0zv » 19 Jan 2020, 13:13

Well you do understand that JT Alert is not compatible with Log4OM v2?

It should be soon, but not now.
Log4OM Version 2.3.0
Windows 10/64
Flex 6600 via OmniRig
CW Skimmer localhost

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by sq9jxb » 19 Jan 2020, 13:28

Welcome KD0ZV

I understand perfectly, but who will answer me, will QSO be logged in with JT-Alert or not?

I will not check myself because Log4OM2 has been doing wonders for several hours and I do not want to risk breaking the log.
Regards

P.S. It is not easier to write about the incompatibility of programs with Log4OM2, because so far only with WSJT-X works without problems.

Regards
Log4OM 2.2 , Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017, ATU-150 , SGC PowerClear
.........................................
Best regards.
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
kd0zv
Old Man
Posts: 422
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 13:42
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by kd0zv » 19 Jan 2020, 14:42

Hello,

I am waiting for new version of JTalert so it works completely. But for now in JTalert I just turned Log4OM logging OFF and turned on ADIF logging.

Log4OM has option to sample an external ADIF file for new contacts. Works good for now.

I just cant Scan LOG4OM database to check needed contacts.

Cheers

Rich
kd0zv
Log4OM Version 2.3.0
Windows 10/64
Flex 6600 via OmniRig
CW Skimmer localhost

User avatar
IW3HMH
Site Admin
Posts: 2542
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:20
Location: Quarto d'Altino - Venezia (ITA)
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by IW3HMH » 19 Jan 2020, 15:40

JT Alert has a nice function to allow UDP ADIF broadcast, indipendently from Log4OM settings.
We wrote that so many times here and on facebook that i'm start to think that users doesn't read. But i admit there is a lot of noise in the social, so i will write that there again:

First of all I have enabled in JTAlert the transmission of QSOs via UDP:

JTAlert Settings menu: Logging -> LAST QSO API -> Enable transmission of last QSO. I'm receiving it in Log4OM on port 2333 as ADIF INBOUND

THIS ALLOW JTALERT TO LOG INTO LOG4OM

Then i have enabled in JTAlert -> Applications -> WSJT-X / JTDX the option Rebroadcast WSJT-X UDP packets on port 2334. Log4OM is listening with JT_MESSAGE service on that port.

This will enable Log4OM to receive QSO and lookups while working a callsign (due to the message format, the callsign message is not arriving on the first stage of the QSO but doesn't belong to Log4OM)

by the way, with this system, nothing prevents you to have V1 running and aligned by JTAlert in the old way, providing statistics to JTAlert until they will release their integration routines. I'm actually working without JTAlert statistics, but it's a choice
Daniele Pistollato - IW3HMH

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by sq9jxb » 19 Jan 2020, 17:35

Hi Danielle

OK.

And if someone does not use WSJTX only JTDX and settings for UDP in JTDX differ from those in WSJT-X?
There is no Rebroadcast option in JTDX.

So that we understand each other, I don't want to use JT Alert because during installation I have a message about the Trojan.
Why run more logon programs if Log4OM could do it alone?
You will need monitors above 30 "in order to have everything on screen.
JTDX can write to external logbook but after TCP, maybe it is worth going this way?

For today I have enough experience with the program.
2 QSO done and the program devoted a few hours.

Regards
Log4OM 2.2 , Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017, ATU-150 , SGC PowerClear
.........................................
Best regards.
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
W7DRM
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 728
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 19:44

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by W7DRM » 19 Jan 2020, 21:27

I have JTDX with JTAlert running with Log4OM V2 - DX Call transfer working and logging working. No problems. I have posted the solutions here - viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4324&start=10

And here - viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4346&start=20

73,
Doug
W7DRM

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by sq9jxb » 20 Jan 2020, 05:58

Hello

Please read this post:

https://forum.log4om.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4432

And see what happened to me after enabling the ADIF Monitor option.

And who will guarantee that it will not happen again?

Regards
Log4OM 2.2 , Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017, ATU-150 , SGC PowerClear
.........................................
Best regards.
Jan SQ9JXB

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 201
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by HB9VQQ » 20 Jan 2020, 18:40

Relax my friend and keep in mind this Software (Log4OM) is completely free ! The folks behind Log4OM are very very very responsive and working hard to bugfix everything what is reported. Version 2 is brandnew code, and of course like any other new software code has some bugs and always will have.

There is no guarantee at all for nothing. Be a little patient and stick with the solution provided above for the time being.

https://forum.log4om.com/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=4469

73
Roland
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

User avatar
sq9jxb
Advanced Class
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Jan 2020, 16:00
Contact:

Re: My struggle with Log4OM V2

Post by sq9jxb » 20 Jan 2020, 19:28

Hello Roland

I am relaxed and I really appreciate the work put into creating Log4OM V2. Great respect for the Creators.
Today I set what I need and so far everything is OK.
Sometimes a person is stressed when something works not as others have described.

Best wishes.

Jan SQ9JXB
Log4OM 2.2 , Windows 10 x64
Yaesu FT-897D, Icom IC-735, Musb1017, ATU-150 , SGC PowerClear
.........................................
Best regards.
Jan SQ9JXB

Post Reply