Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

V2 error reports
Post Reply
Pa0ply
Advanced Class
Posts: 52
Joined: 08 Dec 2022, 22:14
Location: JO32LR
Contact:

Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by Pa0ply »

I use WSJT-x in mode Q65 most of the time.
Logging into Log4OM does not show Q65 but some different mode.
Initially I thought that WSJT-x transfers the various submodes as well, like Q65-60C.
I added those modes into the mode file of Log4OM, but that did not help.

This morning I edited the QSO’s and changed the mode into Q65-60C. Seems Log4OM doesnot recognize this mode as being a digital mode and does not show RST values in digital version i.e. -12 etc. It shows 59 etc.
Changing the mode to Q65, which was already in the selection, did show RST correct versions i.e. -12 etc.

What do I need to change in order the get Q65- …. submodes accepted as digimode?
What shall I do to have Log4OM accept the modes coming from WSJT-x correctly?
I use v2.25 at the moment.

Br. Jan, PAoPLY
User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 10888
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by G4POP »

Please install this version and report findings https://www.log4om.com/l4ong/release/be ... 3_beta.zip
73 Terry G4POP
Pa0ply
Advanced Class
Posts: 52
Joined: 08 Dec 2022, 22:14
Location: JO32LR
Contact:

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by Pa0ply »

Terry,

When I putin a new QSO in LOG4OM and select Q65 it changes the RST into digital figures
When I change it into Q65-60C it stays in RST 599 as before, so nothing changed
User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 10888
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by G4POP »

Q65 is a submode of MFSK but ADIF modes do not include Q65-60C at this time

You can however edit the Log4OM mode list yourself using settings/resources editor.

Be aware that adding modes that are not official ADIF modes might cause issues when uploading to on line logs like LOTW, perhaps better to just use standard Q65 and note the special type in the comments field of your log
73 Terry G4POP
Pa0ply
Advanced Class
Posts: 52
Joined: 08 Dec 2022, 22:14
Location: JO32LR
Contact:

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by Pa0ply »

Terry,

So no solution at the moment.

I installed the LOG4OM version you indicated.
But at the start of LOG4OM still displays that v2.26 is available.
Do I need to install that version as well?

br. Jan
User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 10888
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by G4POP »

Pa0ply wrote: 30 Jan 2023, 13:10 So no solution at the moment.
When the mode becomes an official ADIF mode we will add it to default list but as I stated YOU can add it yourself immediately using the resourses manager!

I installed the LOG4OM version you indicated.
But at the start of LOG4OM still displays that v2.26 is available.

Program config - Program settings - Un-check 'Check for updates' box

Do I need to install that version as well?[
No do not install 2.26.0.0 use the 2.26.0.3 Please
73 Terry G4POP
Pa0ply
Advanced Class
Posts: 52
Joined: 08 Dec 2022, 22:14
Location: JO32LR
Contact:

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by Pa0ply »

Terry,

I learned I have to modify the modelist.csv file for
Q65 and add MFSK on that line in order to get Q65 recognized.

Br. Jan, PAoPLY
Pa0ply
Advanced Class
Posts: 52
Joined: 08 Dec 2022, 22:14
Location: JO32LR
Contact:

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by Pa0ply »

Last night I ran some EME QSO’s in Q65 and the mode is now correctly transferred to the log of Log4OM.


What I discovered now is regarding the QRA locator logged in WSJT.
This locator is probably transferred to Log4OM but it looks like it is overruled by other information from… internet?
Actually the wsjt logged QRA is correct and 6 digits, and the locator filled by Log4OM is only 4 digits and wrong , most of the time.

Can you guide me how to solve this?

Thanks in advance,

Jan, PAoPLY
M0ZEH
Advanced Class
Posts: 51
Joined: 19 Jun 2020, 15:51

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by M0ZEH »

There is a setting under user preferences to log 4 or 6 digits.
Pa0ply wrote: 02 Feb 2023, 13:05 Last night I ran some EME QSO’s in Q65 and the mode is now correctly transferred to the log of Log4OM.


What I discovered now is regarding the QRA locator logged in WSJT.
This locator is probably transferred to Log4OM but it looks like it is overruled by other information from… internet?
Actually the wsjt logged QRA is correct and 6 digits, and the locator filled by Log4OM is only 4 digits and wrong , most of the time.

Can you guide me how to solve this?

Thanks in advance,

Jan, PAoPLY
Thanks Steve M0ZEH
Pa0ply
Advanced Class
Posts: 52
Joined: 08 Dec 2022, 22:14
Location: JO32LR
Contact:

Re: Mode transfer from WSJT-x to Log4OM wrong

Post by Pa0ply »

I also solved the issue on the possible “wrong” QRA locator.
I switched off: external sources.
Now the QRA locators logged in WSJT-x show up properly in the worked stations in Log4OM.
So for those wrong QRA locators it might be that the information in the resource is not correct anymore, while I presume that WSJT-x information at the recent qso is correct.

Such wrong qra locator source will probably also have data which is not updated as well.
Post Reply