Help with V2 and Fldigi

General discussions V2
User avatar
IK0TIX
Advanced Class
Posts: 66
Joined: 26 Mar 2016, 06:41

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by IK0TIX » 21 Jan 2020, 22:32

You are right. I control the frequency but not the PTT.
Actually I use FLdigi with Log4OM but also Win4ICOM.
Win4ICOM is connected via omnirig to Log4OM via virtual COM.
Win4ICOM allows you to create a split COM port making it available to third party software.
In practice I have a virtual COM com1 <-> com2, Log4OM speaks with omnirig with port 1. Win4ICOM listens to com2 while my Icom IC7610 is connected directly via com3 to (CAT) at Win4ICOM.
Win4ICOM uses another virtual port com5 <-> com6 to connect to FLdigi which listens on com6.
If necessary I can be more clear
73
Max IK0TIX

User avatar
IK0TIX
Advanced Class
Posts: 66
Joined: 26 Mar 2016, 06:41

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by IK0TIX » 21 Jan 2020, 22:42

I am attaching some screenshots to be clearer:

my virtual com port
0.JPG
virtualcom
0.JPG (19.62 KiB) Viewed 599 times
omnirig-log4om settings
1.JPG
omnirig
1.JPG (113.78 KiB) Viewed 599 times
Win4Icom settings
2.JPG
2.JPG (92.76 KiB) Viewed 599 times
73
Max IK0TIX

User avatar
IK0TIX
Advanced Class
Posts: 66
Joined: 26 Mar 2016, 06:41

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by IK0TIX » 21 Jan 2020, 22:43

Win4Icom 3rd party sw
3.JPG
3rd
3.JPG (80.61 KiB) Viewed 599 times
FLdigi settings
4.JPG
4.JPG (65.23 KiB) Viewed 599 times
73
Max IK0TIX

User avatar
HB9VQQ
Log4OM Beta Team
Posts: 203
Joined: 16 Jan 2020, 21:19
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by HB9VQQ » 21 Jan 2020, 23:31

In general you can use any virtual serial port emulator, for example the one from Eterlogic http://www.eterlogic.com/Products.VSPE.html or com0com http://com0com.sourceforge.net/ or the one Max is using from Eltima https://www.eltima.com/de/products/vspdxp/.

I am using VSPE from Eterlogic. My Radio is connected to the USB Port of the Computer on Port 3 (Check Windows Device Manager). In VSPE I created a Splitter
Unbenannt3.JPG
Unbenannt3.JPG (63.33 KiB) Viewed 591 times
Com3 = physical Port
Com1 = virtual Port

Make sure speed properties of the Splitter matches your TRX settings !

I then configured FlDigi and Log4OM (Omni-Rig) to use virtual Port COM1.
Unbenannt1.JPG
Unbenannt1.JPG (48.48 KiB) Viewed 594 times
Unbenannt2.JPG
Unbenannt2.JPG (26.65 KiB) Viewed 594 times
That's it. Now you can key the TRX in Fldigi and frequencies are synced between TRX, Log4Om and FlDigi.
Flex 6600 - Spiderbeam

K1wnt
Novice Class
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Aug 2019, 15:32

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by K1wnt » 25 Jan 2020, 18:53

Just installed log4om v2 on a new win 10 laptop. I have fooled around with the fldigi settings under harware ptt but no luck keying the ftdx3000. Can you be more specific on how to make this work?

Thanks, Roger

K1wnt
Novice Class
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Aug 2019, 15:32

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by K1wnt » 25 Jan 2020, 19:15

Please disregard my previous post I did not see your complete post. I still don't understand why you need to create a virtual port? Sorry for confusion not much of a computer guy.

User avatar
IK0TIX
Advanced Class
Posts: 66
Joined: 26 Mar 2016, 06:41

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by IK0TIX » 25 Jan 2020, 19:18

Hi Roger,
I will try to be clearer.
For frequency and mode Log4OM already speaks with FLdigi:
- in FLDigi Configure-Rig comtrol you must select flrig. Addr 127.0.0.1 port 7362 (for example)
- in Log4OM Settings-Configuration-FLdigi the same settings and (port 7362) and select start service
- always in Log4OM Connect-FLDigi-connect
- launch FLDigi
Now you should see the same frequency.
The problem now is to send it in TX because the COM port is occupied by Log4OM.
To overcome this problem, the COM port must be split either with the system indicated by Roland HB9VQQ or with a program with the splitter for example Win4ICOM (I have an ICOM but there is also Win4YAESU).

If you use Win4ICOM, it will speak to your rig and it will divide the commands for both Log4OM and FLDigi TX included (splitter)
73
Max IK0TIX

User avatar
M0GWC
Novice Class
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 Jul 2015, 19:53
Location: Old Basing, UK

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by M0GWC » 26 Jan 2020, 11:20

Same applies to Fldigi with Kenwood TS590SG - frequency display in fldigi and fldigi log reading OK but no tx control from fldigi.
OS:W10. Fldigi 4.1.09 (update shows it to be alpha version!) but same applies with 4.1.08.
System working 100% with WSJT/JS8Call.
Graham
M0GWC

User avatar
IK0TIX
Advanced Class
Posts: 66
Joined: 26 Mar 2016, 06:41

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by IK0TIX » 26 Jan 2020, 11:34

Graham,
with the TS590 you can use the software indicated by Roland.
Create the virtual port (in case of Roland the real port is com 3 the virtual port is 1) and make it split. Use the same port (e.g. from Roland com 1) for FLdigi and omnirig
73
Max IK0TIX

User avatar
M0GWC
Novice Class
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 Jul 2015, 19:53
Location: Old Basing, UK

Re: Help with V2 and Fldigi

Post by M0GWC » 26 Jan 2020, 13:10

Max/Roland. Many thanks for this information which I hadn't seen when I made my original post.

I was already using VSPE splitter software but had not thought to try rigcat, it has resolved my tx issue
with my TS-590SG so again many thanks.
Graham
M0GWC

Post Reply