[SOLVED 2.1] My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

V2 error reports
OE5JFE
Novice Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:08

[SOLVED 2.1] My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

Post by OE5JFE » 19 Jan 2020, 15:13

Hello,

Maybe I am using the station configuration not correct but:

I would expect that the selected references (check box selelected) i.e. a SOTA reference should for all the newly logged QSO be set as my reference? That's how it worked before.
Myref1.PNG
Myref1.PNG (37.76 KiB) Viewed 427 times
No references are listed for the QSO:
Myref2.PNG
Myref2.PNG (27.66 KiB) Viewed 427 times
I did not find any information in the user manual how to do that.

73 de Joe
Last edited by OE5JFE on 21 Jan 2020, 19:50, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6600
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Station Configuration - My references are ignored

Post by G4POP » 19 Jan 2020, 17:32

Try selecting SOTA in awards field at top
73 Terry G4POP

OE5JFE
Novice Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:08

Re: Station Configuration - My references are ignored

Post by OE5JFE » 19 Jan 2020, 18:05

I understood that I can select it there. But this is only possible after I have entered and saved the QSO. Do I need to re-edit every QSO to get my station reference in?

The point is that with the reference selected in the station configuration I am expecting that it should be the default.

To make it clear how my workflow used to be in version 1.4:

1.) Update Station configuration:
- change locator
- change my sota reference
Myref3-v1-4.PNG
Myref3-v1-4.PNG (59.13 KiB) Viewed 410 times
2.) Change to manual QSO time and spacing
3.) enter/transfer from paper all QSO from the activation one after the other (of cource with RST, mode and so on for each QSO) to log4om

With that way all entered QSO had the correct "MY_SOTA_REF"

for the next activation I changed the My SOTA and everything was fine.

For Log4OM Version 2 I was expecting that the Configuration
User Configuration > Station Information > My References
would do exactly the same but with more features for FFWW and so on.
How can I get this feature?

Interrestingly when I export to ADIF all the information is there. I seam the My Ref. tab is not loading the information correct.
Is it maybe an issue with my German language settings on my computer?

I hope I could clarify the problem. Otherwise I can record a video and put it unlisted on youtube to that it is clearer what is not working. Let me know. Thanks for the support.

73 Joe

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6600
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: Station Configuration - My references are ignored

Post by G4POP » 19 Jan 2020, 18:45

Joe,
I just tried this for you and this is the correct procedure

1. I changed the station call sign in Settings/Program Configuration/station information to OE/G4POP/P

2. In Settings/Program Configuration/station information/My References selected SOTA award.

NOTE
A point to watch! because my call is an English call the list of SOTA references are all G/ so what you do is click the Black + (Plus or Add) sign - Enter the Reference, I entered OE/OO-271, and click enter on the PC keyboard. Now that ref is in the references box bottom left.

3. Click save and apply

I then entered a trial QSO with Lele and as you will see from the screen shot all is recorded correctly.

CaptureSOTA.JPG
CaptureSOTA.JPG (34.29 KiB) Viewed 402 times

Entering historic QSO's is just the same by going to manual date and time except you dont have an automatic time advance at this time.

After entering the activation results just edit your station call sign and uncheck the OE/OO-271 box and save and apply

Hope this clears this one up, I will add it to the user guide to save future confusion.
73 Terry G4POP

OE5JFE
Novice Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:08

Re: Station Configuration - My references are ignored

Post by OE5JFE » 20 Jan 2020, 17:09

Hello Terry,

Thanks for the guide.

The QSO list table shows the correct information for "My references". See screenshot. But I still think if you double click the QSO to edit it the tab "My Refs." should show the same information? Otherwise how could one correct/modify it later?
The tab "Award Refs." in the Edit QSO windows does as expected show all the details.
Myref-Import-Empty2.PNG
Myref-Import-Empty2.PNG (120.11 KiB) Viewed 373 times
My feeling is that the data (My Refs.) in the edit QSO dialog is not read correctly (or at all) from the dB.

Thanks for having a look at the issue.

73 Joe

HB9BRJ
Old Man
Posts: 109
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 10:46
Location: Schaffhausen

Re: My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

Post by HB9BRJ » 20 Jan 2020, 19:59

I fully agree with Joe:

Content of "Contact References" in "QSO Manager" is shown under "Edit QSO" > Award Refs.
Content of "My References" in "QSO Manager" is not shown under "Edit QSO" > My Refs.

There should be a possibility to correct erroneous "My References" data using the Log4OM GUI. At present, there is no other solution than using a risky SQL update query.

73, Markus HB9BRJ

OE5JFE
Novice Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:08

Re: My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

Post by OE5JFE » 21 Jan 2020, 17:46

Hi Terry,

Here a short video showing the problem:

https://youtu.be/1TsF9eO_rH8

Thanks and 73
Joe

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6600
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

Post by G4POP » 21 Jan 2020, 18:15

OE5JFE wrote:
21 Jan 2020, 17:46
Hi Terry,

Here a short video showing the problem:

https://youtu.be/1TsF9eO_rH8

Thanks and 73
Joe
You need to understand that where you THINK you should see your reference is not what that window is for!

It is so that if you suddenly decide to add another reference to the qso you can, not for the display of any default references that you set in the config
73 Terry G4POP

OE5JFE
Novice Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:08

Re: My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

Post by OE5JFE » 21 Jan 2020, 18:26

Hi Terry,

Thanks for taking time to discuss.

To add additional awards/references. Perfect.

But you can see in the video that the correctly added "my references" that are a value of the QSO (taken from the from the default settings) get completely removed (dropped, forgotten) when editing a past QSO. The populated field is then empty.
This also happens i.e. if I only change the RST or add a comment.
Is that intended?

73 Joe
Last edited by OE5JFE on 21 Jan 2020, 18:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
G4POP
Log4OM Alpha Team
Posts: 6600
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 14:55
Location: Burnham on Crouch, Essex UK

Re: My references are not displayed in the Edit QSO form

Post by G4POP » 21 Jan 2020, 18:31

OE5JFE wrote:
21 Jan 2020, 18:26
Hi Terry,

Thanks for taking time to discuss.

To add additional awards/references. Perfect.

But you can see in the video that the correctly added "my references" from the settings get completely removed (dropped, forgotten) when editing a past QSO.
This also happens i.e. if I only change the RST or add a comment.
Is that intended?

73 Joe
The edit and emptying of the information is an issue that is known was reported by Greg last week, if we didn't include that fix in today's release of 2.1.0.0 it will be in the next one.

Have you downloaded the latest release?
73 Terry G4POP

Post Reply